My Reviews (45)

Easy Seafood Chowder

This is a very hearty fish soup which is very easy to make. You can use it as a base recipe and add other flavours such as garlic and onion if you like.
Reviews (45)


16 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Ashlie
This is a great starting point but I spiced this recipe up a little. I added chopped onion and zucchini. Also, garlic and Italian seasoning and I filled the can of diced tomatoes with water and added that. If you like spice, I added some hot sauce and red pepper flake. I think adding more veggies makes it heartier and more filling. It was fantastic!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: crazyhappy1
This recipe truly was easy and very tasty! I took the advice of the others and added some garlic powder and instead of the celery I put in onions (I just don't personally care for cooked celery). I would make this again in a heartbeat!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Jelbell66
I loved this recipe! I added zucchini, italian seasoning, garlic powder and a small can of hunts tomato sauce plus I used tilapia instead of cod and it was delicious. I liked that it was simple to make and healthy. I would recommend it to anyone.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Alina
What's great about this recipe is that it gives you a real versatile base of a chowder. If you follow another reviewer's suggestion and add to a can of tomatos a can of water, and then a small can of tomato sauce, you have a perfect beginning of a soup. I add a dash of Sriracha hot Chili sause to give it a kick. I also omit the celery (personal preference) and add sauteed chopped onion. Then add whatever vegetables you have on hand. So far I have made it with califlower and beans (which results in a summery take on a chowder) and with zuchinni and squash. I imagine it'll do well with potatoes and other wintry vegetables, so I am planning on making it again and again. And the best thing is that it is SO fast to make - the only time you spend on this is opening the cans and chopping up the veggies!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Christy Cooks
This gets five stars for simplicity, healthiness, and the ability to customize (great soup for losing weight, yet still getting healthy fat and protien). I added dry red wine, canned clams and oysters, and onions and garlic sauteed in a bit of oil. I also think potatoes could go well. Once, I also used a bit of old bay with a touch of celery seed because I didn't have celery on hand. Thanks for such an easy, healthy recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Eve Kuitunen
yummy, cozy and extremely quick and easy. I didn't have time to go out and buy celery, so I substituted with a few boiled potatoes, and then mashed the whole thing up with a wandmixer thing, and it turned out hearty and thick. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: DECAR48
This lacked something! I added a can of tomato soup, a can of water, 1/2 lb shrimp and 4 healthy shots of Tabasco sauce. Helped quite a bit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2008
Reviewed by: JENNDBLN
Very quick and good! I added a little garlic salt and a few dashes of hot sauce. I also used Pollack fillets instead of Cod only because that's what I had.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Paula Hughes
this is a perfect start....you can disolve a small can of anchovies in with the garlic and onion, along with the celery, add a can of crushed tomatoes with the diced and tomato sauce, after those flavors blend for about 15 min, add the cod, flounder, tilapia, raw shrimp, bay scallops, etc and cook till fish flaky, its called fish stew, or chippinno. Wonderful !!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Sheldyn
This recipe was just a good idea. I also sauteed onion, celery and garlic in olive oil with a little salt, pepper, and old bay. Seasoned in layers and threw in a few red pepper flakes towared the end an was perfect with flounder instead of cod. Next time, I may deglaze with a little white wine before adding the tomatoes or throw in a bay leaf or something. It's kind of funny that people complained it was bland with a last name like McCormick! Thanks for a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes