My Reviews (26)

Raspberry Walnut Layer Cake

When you want a really special cake try this delicious layer cake made with walnuts, raspberries and cream.
Reviews (26)


22 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: LORNA H
Absolutely delicious! At first I thought it was going to be a disaster because both cake layers fell apart as I was removing them from the pans. I had to kind of patch them up and skip the step of slicing them in half and putting icing between them. In spite of that, it turned out great, and every one wanted seconds! My mother is picky when it comes to cakes, but she raved about this one! Works great as a birthday cake because you can pipe a message on top in place of the lattice design. Next time I will probably use parchment paper to make the cake easier to remove from the pan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Chels
This torte/cake was a lot of work for me, which is saying something since I made an Inside out German Choc. Cake that took four hours! While this didn't take nearly as long, the process of splitting the layers and trying to make the thing look presentable was a challenge. I found the cake rather crumbly (but not dry), therefore not so easy to separate. They also sunk in the middle making the process of getting "even" layers very difficult. Not sure if this is due to the high altitude where I live as I sometimes have issues with this when baking. My suggestion from what I learned, split the batter into four parts instead of two and adjust the cooking time to less to avoid having to cut the layers up. Also to get them out of the pan easily I highly recommend lining the bottoms of the pan with parchment paper, I did this and they came out without a problem. I made the recipe exactly how it was written except I used almonds instead of walnuts and added a little bit of almond extract instead of vanilla to the frosting. It tasted good but I wouldn't say it was "to die for" since I found the texture a little odd and not as elegant tasting (if that makes sense) as I would have liked. Perhaps this could be cured by grinding the nuts finer. I also prefer fresh fruit instead of preserves since I find preserves too sweet. I'm not sure I want to go through the trouble of making this again, but other people really enjoyed it so I might.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: TDAVIS2379
Excellent cake to impress others. Anybody could make this cake with outstanding results - however I needed at least another hour of time to have the cake turn out like the photo. The effort is definitely worth the results. Cake doesn't rise as high and the frosting isn't as impressive in hot, humid weather.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: emilyanne
I made this for a party and it was a huge sucess. Used crushed almonds instead - very good. Also had trouble getting it out of the pan intact even though well greased. Luckily, frosting is forgiving
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: good2go
This cake turned out great!! I used powdered sugar instead of white in the icing, I know it changes the texture, but I don't like tasting the grains in frosting. I did everything else as written. everyone loved it! It definately was a lot of work, but I did allow my 3 year old son to help which doubles the work, at least. Anyways, well worth the effort, especially when you have a husband who loves it as much as mine does.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 May 2008
Reviewed by: Auntie D in MN
Very good cake with a beautiful presentation. I like that the walnuts are ground, rather than just chopped.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Amy Holmberg
This cake is truly fantastic. I even make the raspberry jam from scratch because most store-bought jams are too sweet and not "fruity" enough for me. Women: this cake will yield marriage proposals!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: DYHOLMBERG
Awesome cake! We made it with almonds and fresh raspberries, and it was outstanding. I love using cream instead of butter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: PHYTOGIRLC
This was a surprisingly exquisite cake that was surprisingly easy to make. Quite a sophisticated texture and flavor. This will become a standard cake recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: pahner
Tasted SO good. Even my cake hating boyfriend loved this. However I found the cake almost impossible to cut into 4 layers without breaking. Good thing the iceing was forgiving! Looked great topped with fresh raspberrys.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes