My Reviews (38)

Special Raspberry Tiramisu

This is a twist on the classic Italian dessert using fresh or frozen raspberries and Grand Marnier. Delicious!
Reviews (38)


14 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: HEIDI8803
An excellent dessert - well received by all who tried it. I followed the suggestion to use additional raspberries, combining a package of unsweetened berries with one in a light syrup, an d then eliminated the 6 T sugar. In the future, I would also try the suggestion from another tiramisu recipe to substitute mascarpone for 2pkgs cream cheese blended with 1/2 c heavy cream and 5 T sour cream, as the mascarpone is quite expensive for the minimal flavour it imparts. As I was not cooking at home, I had no pastry brush available and simply dipped the coookies in the Grand Marnier syrup which seemed to work quite well. I also used fresh raspberry as a garnish and additional chocolate curls. Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 May 2004
Reviewed by: DEB24
Awesome...or as my little girl says "It's like heaven in my mouth!" Following other tips, I did reduce amount of sugar in berries, plus doubled the amount (works best with fresh berries). I too increased the chocolate curls as I didn't really taste the chocolate the first time I made this. Substituted Blackberry Brandy I had in house for the Grand Marnier I didn't have handy. Worked fine. The marscapone substitute another reader suggested was outrageous, even better than true marscapone! This recipe is easy and delicious! Thanks Den!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: CHRISTIANGAL
I liked the idea of the flavors in this tiramisu, but it was way too soggy for me. I used thawed frozen raspberries, so I might not have drained them enough... so if you use frozen, make sure not to use the juice!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 May 2006
Reviewed by: IVANDIEPART
This twist on a classic is a very delicate dessert. I changed it a very little bit, by layering 1 layer of ladyfingers soaked in the syrup, 1 layer of the mascarpone mixture, 1/2 of the fruit (I used thawed frozen mixed berries), 1 more layer of soaked ladyfingers, remaining berries and remaining mascarpone mixture. I dusted this all with cocoa powder and sprinkled a little chopped caramelized peanuts. Delicious, but I'll give a try to the recipe as described in the recipe. From coming back from shopping to cleaning dishes, it only took 20 minutes! Oh, and, yes, it yields more than 6 servings (I'd say 8-10).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: Morena
An absolutely delicious spin on traditional tiramisú, ideal for summer; I made 1 1/2 times the amount for a party, and it disappeared. I used the best raspberries I could lay my hands on, and they lifted the dessert into another realm altogether. One hint though? As much as I love chocolate, in my opinion, this doesn't need it. And it was nothing to do with the quality of the chocolate I used - I just think it adds nothing to it, and the next times I make it will be without it. JSPAHN, maybe you haven't had tiramisú before, because it's quite clearly not baked; the way I see it, you're going to die anyway from all that creamy richness so you might as well not worry, but if the thought of uncooked eggs makes you nervous, there are plenty of recipes out there for tiramisú featuring a cooked sabayon (egg yolk mixture) and Italian or Swiss (ie. cooked) meringue. Just be forewarned that you will be sacrificing some creaminess.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: lisa r
delicious. this recipe makes alot.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: ROBYNBNB
This was very tasty indeed. The only reason I gave it a 4 is because instead of using all those eggs I will use whipping cream added to the cheese. I also used coffee liqour because that is what I had & I didn't add water and sugar to it. I also used fresh berries and 'less' sugar raspberry jam mashed up. I also grated a little chocolate on top, which it really didn't need and added no nuts. Will be making this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: JACQUI
Superb! Absolutely delicious! I made 1.5 times the recipe for a dinner party but found the Grand Marnier syrup did not need to be increased. Still had plenty for the increased number of Ladyfingers. Got rave reviews - Thanks Den!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: KOIKAWA
Really easy, really yummy. I did temper the egg yolks before beating, but otherwise follwed the recipe to the letter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: DallasAggie
This recipe was very good and I made it for a large group so doubled it. However it was a lot of work to do with a whole dinner party so I probably won't make again unless on a very special occasion. I used frozen mixed berries and it was even better than just raspberries alone. Vanilla was called for in the recipe but never saw where to add it and I couldn't figure out what the crushed berries at the beginning were for - just FYI.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes