My Reviews (58)

Easy Beef and Noodle Stew

This is an easy meal I invented as a busy university student. Hearty beef and cheese with egg noodles and corn.
Reviews (58)


20 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: THARRETT
This is by far the best goulash I have ever made, but here are some things I will change the next time I make it: First, the onions do not cook through that well when mixed with the sauce so I will fry them up with the hamburger, and change the cheese to mozzarella. Do add a ton of spices to your meat when frying it if you have a bland sauce. The corn makes this so yummy! Also, I used ground venison instead of hamburger (My husbands a hunter) and elbow macaroni. A+ super recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: AMPCOOKING
We love this recipe...with a few changes. Elbow noodles insted of egg noodles and I hate onion, so I use onion powder and garlic insted. Easy and basic...what more could you ask for.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: CYNDIDH
I used to make almost this exact recipe when I was growing up... so I was happy to come across this one since I'd forgotten exactly what the ingredients were. My recipe was slightly different, though, so I adjusted this one to match it. Instead of egg noodles, I used spaghetti noodles. I added minced shallot and minced garlic while the meat was browning. To the sauce (I used a jar of maranara) and corn, I added garlic powder, onion powder, Italian seasoning, dried basil leaves, minced rosemary, and salt to taste. After the noodles were cooked and drained, I put all of them in the bottom of a casserole dish and mixed about half the sauce in with them so they wouldn't stick together. Then I layered 1.5 cups of cheese over the top, then spread out the rest of the sauce over the cheese. I baked it at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes. Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Darcy Smith
I thought I was the only one to make goulash like this! I love this recipe and change it up some by adding Taco Seasoning mix with the ground beef. Gives it a lil kick.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
We're on a super tight budget this week so I made this and bent it to stretch to feed the four of us at least for two dinners (feedng one hungry husband, two hungry growing boys and one mother) and at LEAST one lunch. I used organic spaghetti sauce and I added one very large red pepper, one cup chopped fresh mushrooms and a mess of fresh garlic that I sauteed in olive oil before adding in the rest of the ingredients, as well as adding in one can drained petite diced tomatoes. I also threw in some dried basil and dried oregano. The boys and I really liked this and along with homemade dinner rolls, this made a filling meal that stretched very well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: DANASTRUNK
I bit bland for my taste but a good base recipe to start with. I subtitute italian sausage for the ground beef. For the sauce. I use 2 cans of diced tomatoes (drained) and one can of tomato sauce. I let the sausage simmer with the sauce for 10 minutes or until it thickens. The diced tomatoes gives the dish texture and substance that it needs. I also added some fresh garlic. With these changes my husband LOVES this dish and its pretty simple and easy for me. I love those type of dishes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: ROWAN12
Overall, this was a good basic goulash recipe. The flavor appeals to kids because it's not very strong, but next time I will probably cut back on the cheese a little bit for more of a tomato flavor and add some oregano and basil. It was quite good for the effort required! -Allison
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: HOPE16
This was a great recipe- esp. since I am living overseas and many of the ingredients included in traditional recipes are hard to come by. It was quick, easy, and wonderfully tasty! I recommend topping it with some extra cheese on your plate.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: jesslspence
This was super yummy – I used some of the other suggestions and cooked the onions with the meat and added a bunch of seasonings to it. I also added a can of potatoes chopped up and some shredded carrots. My Very Picky 4 year old loved it – she thought it was spaghetti and didn’t even notice the extra veggies she was getting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: BUMP30
Yummy
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes