My Reviews (332)

Healthy Pumpkin Muffins

Delicious and healthy pumpkin and walnut muffins made with wholemeal flour and sweetened with honey.
Reviews (332)


08 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: morninglory16
These muffins come out moist and delicious if a full cup of fresh pumpkin is used instead of 3/4 cup canned, and canola oil is used instead of vegetable oil. I also used 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp cloves, 1/4 tsp ginger instead of pumpkin pie spice and they were not bland at all. They are much better eaten warm. They also freeze well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Cassas
I followed the advice of a previous review and used a full cup of pumpkin puree. I also used one 3/4 tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of ginger and 1/4 tsp of nutmeg in place of the pumpkin pie spice. These turned out moist and delicious, with the added bonus of being healthier than most muffins. Great recipe!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Andrea
I am very happy with this recipe! I am 31 years old and have never been able to make a edible muffin, they are usually tough from too much stirring or tasteless or fall apart, etc. This recipe is perfect for people like me, it is easy and my favorite - adaptable. I like to experiment with different ingredients, especially types of flours and this it the one that I can use. I made the muffins last night, using a heaping cup of fresh pumpkin puree and 2 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice. I upped the raisins as well and left out the walnuts. Filled cups level to top as another reviewer suggested and they turned out very good, my three year old son loved them. I made another batch right away and used 1 cup of whl. wht. flour and half a cup oat flour, used chocolate chips instead of raisins and no walnuts.Again another heaping cup of fresh pumpkin and two tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and a heaping 1/4 tsp ginger. Turned out perfect. I can not wait to try this recipe with barley flour. Oh another hint that helped me alot was to stir the batter with a rubber spatula instead of a spoon and to fold the ingredients not stir! Thank you for helping me fix my "muffin mistakes". Would just like to add that I have made another batch of muffins a few days later, only I substituded fresh mashed pears for the pumpkin - even better with this friut! I had to bake longer than recipe called for.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Juliet Bravo
These are fantastic. I followed the recommendations of increasing the pumpkin and substituting half the oil for apple sauce. I didn't have spice mix so I added 1 tsp ginger, 1 tsp cinamon and half a tsp ground cloves and ground nutmeg. Best muffins I've ever made!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: BHARPOOL
I was really disapointed in the results of this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly as it says and I was so excited because I really thought they were gonna turn out great because they smelled so wonderful baking. Well after baking them for 18 min. they were still not done so I added another 6 min. then they were done. I buttered one up and took a bite and was totally disapointed! They were extremely bland and had this dry 'wheat' bread taste. Not a moist and pumpkin-flavored muffin like I was expecting. I would not recommend this recipe to anyone. I'm sorry, but it's quite terrible! YUCK
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: LKristine
I used 1 cup of pumpkin as many reviewers had suggested, and I left out the raisins. The muffins were very moist and tasty. I didn't think you can tell that they're made with whole wheat flour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2007
Reviewed by: jleekey
Very good! I use 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg instead of pumpkin pie spice. And 1/2 a bag of milk chocolate chip morsels. SO GOOD. Try it. Very easy. You can get 12 muffins out of one batch, but I like to double it and use the bigger can of pumpkin puree. Also, if you fill the cups right up to the edge (batter is a little stiff) then it mounds up to look like a perfect little muffin. I also tried to make a loaf out of this and it didn't work so good. Will stick with the muffins. Thanks for the awesome recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: CPENABAUER
Loved this recipe - the muffin was so tender and light that you wouldn't even know it wasn't white flour! This recipe was so easy that my 2 year old daughter was able to help me with it and she and I devoured them afterwards. I loved the idea of soaking the raisins to make thm softer too, it really added a nice texture. Again, I made only a few changes out of necessity. I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ground cloves and 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg b/c I didn't have the pumpkin pie spice, and I used spelt flour and pecans b/c that's what I had on hand. But the recipe is so easy that I decided to make 3 more batches and give them to neighbors as gifts! Thank you so much for this fabulous recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: javamonkey
I used a whole can of pumpkin and additional cinnamon. They came out great! These were a good way to add fiber to my preschooler's diet.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Erin M
These were sooo good! This was perfect to have around as snacks and to grab for a quick breakfast. And they smelled amazing while baking :-9
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes