My Reviews (381)

Pumpkin Walnut Roll Cake

This is a pumpkin Swiss roll cake with a white cream and walnut filling. Can be frozen and served chilled. Dust with icing sugar, if desired.
Reviews (381)


23 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: LINDA22
This was great. Very easy to make. I wish we had the ability to reply to reviews on this site, since we can not I'll make a few comments to some of the reviewers here. Spread the cake in the pan all the way to the corners with a spatula. Smooth it evenly throughout the pan. If you dump it all in the center of the pan, it will not spread out to the corners in the oven by itself. Spray the pan with regular Pam, line it with wax paper, spray the wax paper with Pam for baking (with flour) and the cake will be easy to remove from the pan. Roll the cake in a towel (or as another suggested, use a pillow case). This is done to let the heat and moisture escape. Rolling it in wax paper will trap in moisture from the hot cake and make the cake soggy. Hope this helps.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: LYNN100
We made 20 of these this past weekend. We found that if you just spray the pan good with pam and not use wax paper it will work good. We put our wax paper on the table, lightly coated it with powdered sugar then when it came out of the oven we put a small amount of powdered sugar on top of the cake and then rolled it up and put in ref. to cool down. It unrolled real good. We also added 8 Tablespoons of Cool Whip to the filling and it really gave it a good taste. We have more orders to fill for Christmas.lol. So you can see it is a very good recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Lori from CT
I've been making this for quite a few years. Everybody loves it. Just make sure that you put plenty of sifted confectionary sugar on towel before rolling, otherwise it will stick to towel and make sure it is completely cooled before unrolling it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: MomTo6
I love this recipe. I have made this recipe 3 times now. Each time I used all the ingredients exactly as they are called for. I varied the way I prepared the pan each time based on reviews here. Here's what I found...the first time I made it I just sprayed the pan then poured in the batter. It came out fine. The second time I did the same - and it stuck! Same pan but for some reason I was not as lucky as the first time. The third time I lined the pan with parchment, sprayed that then poured in the batter. That seemed to work best but I found out why you spray the pan also *before* you put the paper in...some batter leaked under the paper and stuck to the pan a bit. It stil turned out okay. I think I have learned: DON'T TAKE YOUR CHANCES ONLY SPRAYING THE PAN. Lastly, IF YOU CRACK IT BEYOND REPAIR: I broke it into pieces and used a trifle bowl to layer the pieces and the cream cheese mixture (with 1 cup cool whip mixed into the cream cheese). I topped it with more cool whip, nuts, and a dusting of cinnamon. It was a good rescue and looked great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: RALWATTAR
This cake is so delicious, I cannot recommend it enough. I added 1/2 tsp. ginger to the cake and 1 teaspoon grated orange peel along with 1/2 cup cool whip to the cream filling. Be sure to let the rolled cake cool all the way before attempting to unroll it and fill it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Susie
I never made a jelly roll cake before and was kind of nervous. I made 2 of them and they were very easy!! I used all Splenda (R) in place of sugar and it was delicious. I froze mine to bring to a couple of parties. Thaws in a hour or so. Looks like a bakery made it. Taste wonderful! Thank you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: LuvTheseKids
My mom and I make these every year. This is our exact recipe, but I do have a few suggestions to make this experience much better for you! Make them five at a time. One large can of PURE pumpkin is exactly enough for five rolls. Cook them on parchment paper but make sure you fold it right into the cookie sheet. When you pour the batter in, the folded paper helps to prevent the edges from burning. Wait until they cool completely and then spread the cream cheese frosting. Leave an inch around all four sides w/o frosting. it will spread when you roll it. Make them at least a day or two before you need them. When you have them rolled, wrap them as tight as you can get them in saran wrap. Even if they have cracked, the saran wrap will fix everything. After wrapping them put them directly into the refrigerator. I usually make 20 in one day near Thanksgiving and freeze them to give as small gifts over the holiday season. Not to mention that my husband then has access to them all year long!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: JKIM53
Very delicious! If you grease and flour the sheet well before putting the batter on, you don't need to put parchment paper on it. It's just a pain to peel off afterwards. Instead of putting it on a towel, you can put some saran wrap down and sprinkle it, then use that to roll it up after it cools a little. We forgot to turn it over though before we put the cream cheese mixture on the ugly side, that way the nice smooth side is up. We also put cool whip in the filling, but one cup was a bit much. Neufchâtel cheese also worked fine (it's healthier). We also used splenda in the cream cheese filling in place for half the sugar. Enjoy! Very tasty**
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: MARYSUNSHINE1
Everyone loves this one! All that rolling sounds a little complicated, but it's really pretty easy. I want the nuts on the inside of the cake so I grease the pan, use parchment paper and grease that also. As soon as it comes out of the oven, I run a butter knife around the edges, flip it onto a sideless (?) cookie sheet and flip it again onto the powdered sugar tea towel, roll up and chill. 3/4 of a cup of walnuts works best for me. Edit: After making this recipe many, many times now, I decided to change pans and wondered what took me so long. I make other cake rolls and I use a 13x9 jelly roll pan. It was perfect! It isn't a big difference, but I liked the looks much better. It was just a smidge thicker.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: SHARRYN
I've been making these cake rolls for well over 25 years now and you don't need to grease the jelly roll pan. Just line it with wax paper and allow enough paper extending over the ends of the pan so you can use it for handles to lift the cake out. I also lift the pan up and slap it down on the counter several times to make the batter spread more evenly over the pan. After the cake is baked and lifted out of the pan, generously sift powdered sugar over it, then lay it on a linen dish towel (or pillowcase) and roll it all up together. I allow them to cool no more than an hour. If you allow it to get completely cold it will be more likely to crack when you unroll it. One more thing, do not overbake. I bake mine for 15 minutes @ 350F, no more, no less.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes