My Reviews (617)

Spiced Fresh Pumpkin Muffins

These pumpkin muffins are extra special because they use fresh baked pumpkin. Can also be made into a loaf if you prefer.
Reviews (617)


25 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: ALLYN61
These are very good as is but can be VERY "heart healthy" without sacrificing taste with these changes: replace white flour with 2 cups whole wheat flour and one cup rolled oats; Replace oil one for one with applesauce; replace eggs with egg beaters (1/4 cup per egg). I used canned pumpkin and pumpkin pie spice (6 teaspoons) to replace the other spices; and decrease sugar to 3/4 cup. This recipe will make 24 "normal" sized muffins that are about 100 calories.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: APPLEDEBBIE
Absolutely delicious! I cheated and used canned pumpkin in place of the fresh and the muffins were moist with just the right amount of spice. I'll definitely be making these again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: ELVISCOSTELLOFAN
Insanely delicious muffins! My husband isn't a terribly big fan of pumpkin, and even he found them irresistible. I used 15 oz canned pumpkin like others suggested, and cut all the spices but the cinnamon in half. I substituted whole wheat flour for regular, Egg Beaters for the eggs, and used a 1/2 Splenda/ 1/2 sugar blend for the sugar. I also added 1 cup chocolate chips and an oatmeal streusel topping. Someone called these "coffeehouse quality" and I absolutely agree.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: MOMMIETO2BOYS
Great recipe! I made it healthier by using 2 cups unbleached flour + 1 cup rolled oats, used applesauce instead of oil, and only put in 2 eggs. Also used canned pumpkin. Turned out awesome! Kids love it!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: LOVECED
This recipe was very good, I did tweak it to my own taste, I cut the cloves and nutmeg in half, but left the cinnamon and allspice the same. I used 2 cups of canned pumpkin and topped them with an oatmeal streusel topping (3/4 cup flour, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon,1/2 cup brown sugar, 3/4 cup rolled oats, and 1/2 cup melted butter) they were fantastic. For my own "notes" the recipe yielded 18 muffins, and they took approximately 35 minutes to bake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: Flashsmith
I'm making these again today! Used whole wheat,flax and spelt flour as we don't use white flour anymore. 1/2'd the sugar,added some apple sauce, some pineapple juice and cheated with canned pumpkin. I think I added some honey. As you can see, very versatile. Using whole wheat flour makes them very filling. For people on the go that want a quick healthy breakfast, that stays with you until lunch, this is perfect. My husband and children all loved these (even though they were good for them).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 May 2003
Reviewed by: KITTYDOG2
This recipe was AWESOME. Perfect taste, perfect texture--just like what you might find in a restaurant. I cut the recipe in half (used 2 eggs), and it still made 10 large muffins! I also used a little less cloves and allspice than recommended so that it wouldn't be overpowering.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: jenny
These are GREAT! Just what I was looking for - a pumpkin muffin that doesn't need added things like raisens, nuts or chips to taste good - this is IT! I used 1 cup wheat flour and 2 cups white flour. Kids loved them too. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: Lisa
We enjoyed these. I used whole wheat four and 1/2 the sugar. Very good & moist muffin.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: TRITTIPO
Really good! I didn't have any allspice or cloves, and I only had 2 eggs, but it still tasted great. Just double the cinnamon and add 1t of extra nutmeg, and it's fantastic!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes