My Reviews (277)

Pumpkin Muffins with Chocolate Chips

I love pumpkin muffins and chocolate chip muffins but I didn't know they'd be so good combined! Even better still warm.
Reviews (277)


27 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: BBURG_HOKIES
Delicious! I cut sugar from 2 Cups down to 1 & 1/2 C. Also cut oil from 1 & 1/2 Cups to 1/2 C. oil and substituted a 1/2 C. applesauce. I used a bag of mini choc. chips and made them into mini muffins. Took these to my kids MMO (Mother's Morning Out) class for a Thanksgiving treat. Would probably cut back choc. chips next time to just a Cup as the pumpkin taste was a little overwhelmed by the choc. chips.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Lisa W
Great muffin! I made these for Thanksgiving. Listened to alot of the prior variations. Used 1/4 cup oil and 1 1/2 cups of applesause. Added 1tsp. pumpkin pie spice. They were great! The key to keeping them moist for days is to wrap each muffin individualy. I wraped them like that and they were VERY moist for 4 days!! Great gift idea too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: Rebslo
Quick and tasty. Too much oil as written. 1 cup of oil is plenty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: SWEET_KITTY
When I first took a bite of one of these hot muffins, the first word out of my mouth was "WoW." I didn't follow the recipe exactly b/c I didn't have everything, changed things here and there, doubled the recipe AND I took the advice of others. //Here are some things that I changed: /**decreased oil to two cups (in a single recipe, it would have been reduced from 1 1/2 cups to 1 cup [would have preferred to use part applesauce but was out])** /**used whole wheat flour and added wheat gluten** /**The cinnamon was freshly ground** /**added 1/2 a teaspoon of ground cloves [I might have added more except it was my first time and I didn't want to botch a doubled recipe}** / **Instead of semisweet chocolate chips, Guittard [brandname] Choc-Au-Lait (white chips)were used** TIP: Keep an eye on muffins after 14-16 minutes -they MAY BE overcooked or slightly burned at around 18 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I made a half recipe of this. Instead of vegetable oil, I used melted butter. I didn't want to use a whole 3/4 cup of melted butter so I cut the amount in half again and used more pumpkin. I cut the sugar back to a half cup for a HALVED recipe and I used half of a bag of Hershey's cinnamon chips that I had on hand instead of chocolate chip only because I was out. I was a little concerned about the muffin batter because it was so thick but these turned out beautifully. And the smell? Oh my goodness. The one issue I have is there isn't enough cinnamon. Next time, I'll double the amount of cinnamon or use a teaspoon or so of pumpkin pie spice. Texture wise, these were wonderful and I didn't miss the sugar or butter that would have been in them had I not cut the amounts in half. NOTE: I always bake my muffins at 350 for 20 minutes. That was absolutely spot on baking temperature/time for these muffins.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jul 2004
These muffins were moist, good and easy to make, but a bit to oily for my taste. The second time I made them I decreased the oil by 1/2 cup and added a 1/2 cup more pumpkin, vanilla and spice (cinnamon and nutmeg) much tastier!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: MOMOFCASSIE
These are very good - even my picky 6 year old loves them. I took previous advice and only used one cup of oil. I also increased pumpkin by 25% and used mini chocolate chips. We make them several times in the fall and freeze them. Then we just take a couple out at a time to eat. We love them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 May 2003
Reviewed by: MPSFHP
Fantastic muffins - so yummy! I only add 1/4 cup of oil. I don't substitute and the muffins still come out moist and delicious. I'm not sure why so much oil is included in the original recipe. I also use chocolate chunks rather than chips - they are just really really good muffins!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: SNICKSTER
I made these muffins as a "munchie" for the kids at our Thanksgiving get-together. Instead of making the regular sized muffins, I made mini muffins, using mini chocolate chips. I decreased the oven temperature to 375 and baked them for 10-14 minutes. They turned out GREAT! I ended up having about 80-90 mini-muffins. I took 50 to our Thanksgiving celebration and froze the rest. I should have taken them all -- they were gone within an hour!! I've already forwarded this recipe to 4 people! A huge hit! Thank you, Laurie!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: tonya28574
AWESOME!!! I made this recipe using 1/2 cup peanut oil, 1 cup of applesauce, and I also added 1 cup of chopped walnuts! In addition, I added 1 teaspoon of nutmeg along with the cinnamon, and used just one cup of milk chocolate chips. Excellent! I will be making this again very soon! Laurie, thanks for a great new recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes