My Reviews (156)

Penne with Roma Tomatoes

This is a very simple pasta dish intended to celebrate the fresh flavour of ripe tomatoes. It is ready in a flash.
Reviews (156)


24 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Christine W
I made this tonight for a quick and healthy dinner for my toddler and I and this was great! I used angel hair pasta as it was all I had. It was soo easy to make and tasted wonderful. The freshness of the roma tomatoes really makes this a great dish. I meant to add some fresh garlic, but forgot, so I sprinkled some garlic salt on it after everything was mixed up. There are so many possibilities with this recipe such as adding chicken or shrimp and fresh veggies! This is a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: jlmoore
This is a great recipe. the only change I made was I used whole wheat penne, and reduced fat Italian salad dressing, and reduced fat parmasan cheese. Absolutely delicious!!!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: KMc
Very light and fresh. I used chopped garlic and sprinkled with red pepper flakes. Got the basil and tomatoes out of the garden and we will make this easy dish again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Tarheel33
I added 3 cloves of fresh garlic chopped and 1/2 cup (maybe more) of a good white wine. I actually cooked the sauce letting it simmer for about an hour. My son who has been to Italy said it was one of the better recipes I have used.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: merk4
Fresh & delicious. I did sub. EVOO + italian seasoning for the salad drssg. I also added a 1/4 t. garlic powder & 2 t. balsamic vinegar. Great way to use garden fresh tomatoes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: gothspice
Dorot chopped basil cubes made this easy for a winter carb craving. I added a touch of minced garlic, a shake of Parmesan, and some ground black pepper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Nicole Burdett
I really loved this with a few additions... I added balsamic, minced garlic, green onion, roasted red peppers and artichoke hearts and also used low-fat italian dressing. Sprinkled servings with a little feta and it was an amazing side dish. So fresh and perfect for summertime
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: knitty
This was wonderful! I improvised a bit (added chicken, fresh mushrooms, and garlic) but the Italian dressing (I used Good Seasonings), basil (I used dried), and Parmesan cheese make this sauce something worth serving again and again! I grow Amish paste tomatoes - like Romas, but bigger - and this was a great way to use the end of the season bounty now that the canning is done! I will definitely be making again for guests!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: GOOBER45
As others have commented, it's a very easy recipe with little prep time, and it results in a very light, tasty pasta dish. It is best served with fresh ingredients (basil, tomatoes) rather than canned/dry. It's also very welcoming to modifications. I omitted the onions (personal taste), used whole wheat penne, and added some crushed red pepper. Tastes good cold or hot. Next time I will try angel hair pasta and add some cubed avocado, black olives, and garlic (maybe toasted pine nuts, too), and serve with garlic bread!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: maroon98
I too made this with angel hair pasta. I also had some leftover baked chicken that I cut up and added (2 breasts). My family really enjoyed this meal. It was extremely light yet flavorful too. My husband and I ate the rest for lunch the next day and didn't even heat it up. It was even better cold, in my opinion.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes