My Reviews (156)

Penne with Roma Tomatoes

This is a very simple pasta dish intended to celebrate the fresh flavour of ripe tomatoes. It is ready in a flash.
Reviews (156)


25 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: RussellC
I had my doubts, but it worked out just fine. I made it according to the recipe and I thought the dressing was a little overpowering. I then drizzled a little olive oil on it and it was much better. I'll be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Jillian
Quick, easy, and delicious! This is perfect for summer, when fresh tomatoes are so abundant. I used angel hair pasta and opted out the red onion. For the "Italian dressing", I kept it very, very simple and used a mix of olive oil and minced garlic. It doesn't get much better or much simpler than this!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Carrie Rose
I'm not sure if this is supposed to be eaten warm or cold, but I made it cold, and it was a nice light pasta salad. It's easy to make and a great way to use basil and tomatoes from a garden. I used an Italian dressing mix and just threw all the ingredients together in the bowl rather than mixing it separately, so I wound up using more dressing than the recipe called for, but it's good that way. I made the dressing with balsamic vinegar and olive oil (I'll probably reduce the oil next time to make it healthier). After tasting the salad, I added extra onion, which I feel was an improvement. I think it would also benefit from more basil and maybe some garlic as suggested by other reviewers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Monika Singh Sanford
I added parmasan plus an italian blend of cheeses. And, I added garlic and lots of italian seasoning, salt, pepper and red pepper flakes for more flavor. I used Roasted Pepper Italian Dressing - and I added fresh vegetables like broccoli, mushroom, zucchini, bell pepper and olives. Quite healthy and pretty tasty! Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: TGMILLER
Very tasty (and EASY). Two things I look for. I did add some garlic as previously recommended, but also threw in some left over BBQ chicken (w/out the sauce) we had from the night before. That turned out to be a nice addition. This is a very nice summer dish we'll be doing again. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Jharmon27
I made this with whole wheat penne and added some italian seasoning to it...I served it with the Wonderful Short Ribs from this site. Easy & tasty side dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jun 2013
Reviewed by: Carol Barletta
This sounded good until you got to the part with the bottled dressing. Instead, I would have sauteed some garlic and olive oil and then proceeded from there.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Krstnknnn
I loved the simplicity of this dish. Just moved into a new house and was able to unpack the minimal anout of kitchen stuff to make!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Bruce and Jennifer
We make this quite often now. We use the Good Seasons Italian Dressing mix and use Balsamic vinegar for extra flare and color, rather than using a prepared Italian dressing. There's never any left overs with this one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Bernie
This was awesome!My only regret is finding the recipe at the end of Summer tomato season! I added fresh minced garlic, and for the dressing I used a package of Good Season's Cheese and herbs dressing, subbing Balsamic for regular vinegar. I omitted the onion, but that is just my personal taste. I will definitely be making this again! I would like to try adding cooked shrimp next time! Thanks, Kelcampbell!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes