My Reviews (156)

Penne with Roma Tomatoes

This is a very simple pasta dish intended to celebrate the fresh flavour of ripe tomatoes. It is ready in a flash.
Reviews (156)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
lovestef said:
Used different ingredients. This is excellent. I added about 1 teaspoon of miniced garlic. This is wonderful hot, but I liked it better as a nice refreshing macaroni salad! Also would consider adding a can of olives for the salad.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
SPIDERBABY said:
Altered ingredient amounts. This was very quick, easy, and tasty. Very light for summer! I used Farfalle pasta, 6 roma tomatoes, chopped roasted red capsicums and a small can of sliced black olives. I only had a handful of fresh basil, so I used that plus some dried. I skipped the onion because my family doesn't care for it. I added more grated parm than called for in the recipe. Even my picky 8 year old liked this, and my 12 year old said it was a keeper! Good warm and cold too!!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
2boys1cat said:
Used different ingredients. I added parmasan plus an italian blend of cheeses. And, I added garlic and lots of italian seasoning, salt, pepper and red capsicumflakes for more flavour. I used Italian Dressing - and I added fresh vegetables like broccoli, mushroom, zucchini, bell pepper and olives. Quite healthy and pretty tasty! Thanks for sharing!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Ivy said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I'm not sure if this is supposed to be eaten warm or cold, but I made it cold, and it was a nice light pasta salad. It's easy to make and a great way to use basil and tomatoes from a garden. I used an Italian dressing mix and just threw all the ingredients together in the bowl rather than mixing it separately, so I wound up using more dressing than the recipe called for, but it's good that way. I made the dressing with balsamic vinegar and olive oil (I'll probably reduce the oil next time to make it healthier). After tasting the salad, I added extra onion, which I feel was an improvement. I think it would also benefit from more basil and maybe some garlic as suggested by other reviewers.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Iza
Absolutley delicious summertime meal! I have always had a phobia of using uncooked, fresh tomatoes in a sauce but I've been converted! lol My husband loves red onions and Italian dressing so I decided to give this recipe a try. I used four big tomatoes (my romas were not ripe yet) that I picked from my garden and I seeded and diced them. Then I picked a big handful of basil and chopped that up. I added 1/2 cup of salad dsg ( that I had made with balsamic vinegar...I noted that alot of recipes for fresh tomato sauce add balsamic vinegar so that is how I incorporated it into this one). Finally, I used angel hair because that is what I had. It is just an explosion of freshness and summer in your mouth when you eat this. I highly recommend!
 
08 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: KIMBACUB
Absolutley delicious summertime meal! I have always had a phobia of using uncooked, fresh tomatoes in a sauce but I've been converted! lol My husband loves red onions and Italian dressing so I decided to give this recipe a try. I used four beefsteak tomatoes (my plum romas were not ripe yet) that I picked from my garden and I seeded and diced them. Then I picked a big handful of basil and chopped that up. I added 1/2 cup of Good Seasons Salad dsg ( that I had made with balsamic vinegar...I noted that alot of recipes for fresh tomato sauce add balsamic vinegar so that is how I incorporated it into this one). Finally, I used angel hair because that is what I had. It is just an explosion of freshness and summer in your mouth when you eat this. I highly recommend!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: naples34102
I just loved this but I don't use or buy Italian dressing and I omitted the raw onion - straight olive oil and a little fresh minced garlic worked for me instead. Served this with "Grandma Bogie's Parmesan Chicken," recipe also from this site.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: HEART2HAND
This is excellent. I added about 1 teaspoon of miniced garlic. This is wonderful hot, but I liked it better as a nice refreshing macaroni salad! Also would consider adding a can of olives for the salad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: bgkeel39
This was fantastic.I made it tonight for dinner and we loved the flavor of all the mixture. I did like the other lady said about balsamic vinager. I used the bottle dressing. It was so good. I also chopped, (In my food processor) celerey, green onions & mushroom's very fine and sauteed them in olive oil and added them to the pasta and then added the chopped tomatoes. I tossed it all together with the other ingredient's while in the hot pan, and served it warm. The olive oil that it was used to cook the veggies really added to it. It was so good. Thank you for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: marcy
This was very quick, easy, and tasty. Very light for summer! I used Farfalle pasta, 6 roma tomatoes, chopped roasted red peppers and a small can of sliced black olives. I only had a handful of fresh basil, so I used that plus some dried. I skipped the onion because my family doesn't care for it. I added more grated parm than called for in the recipe. Even my picky 8 year old liked this, and my 12 year old said it was a keeper! Good warm and cold too!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes