My Reviews (305)

Breadcrumb Prawn Scampi

Freshly peeled prawns are sauteed in garlic infused butter then simmered in a white wine sauce that is thickened with breadcrumbs. Served over pasta with Parmesan cheese.
Reviews (305)


13 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: ELISABETHRN
This is a very good recipe, but I can't bring myself to give 5 stars to any recipe that tells me to discard garlic (?!). I made the following changes which I think made it better (my entire picky family loved it). First of all, I marinated the peeled shrimp WITH the garlic, coursely chopped, and about a tbs. Italian seasoning, some fresh ground pepper, and 1/4 cup olive oil for about 2 hours. I sauteed the shrimp until barely pink (with the garlic, of course), and I added the parm. cheese with the wine, and simmered for about 5 minutes, then used about 1/2 cup seasoned bread crumbs to thicken. Came out great, sauce neither too thin nor thick, excellent flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: ERMB
This was very tastie with a few variations that I made -- I sauteed the shrimp in 1/3 cup olive oil and 6 cloves of garlic for 5 minutes while my angel hair pasta was cooking. Then I removed the shrimp and added 1 cup of white wine,a few basil and parsley flakes, and fresh ground pepper. I simmered this for a few minutes and at the end I added a couple teaspoons of ground seasoned croutons (I put them in the blender). I added one teaspoon at a time because it really thickens quick. I poured this mixture over the cooked noodles and sprinkled with more of the ground croutons and parmesan cheese.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Kayte
I was low on dinner ideas one night and low on ingredients as well. I just happened to have everything required for this so I thought I'd give it a try. It was seriously, AMAZING. I felt so accomplished serving this gourmet dish (which was secretly very easy). I did make some changes: I used a LOT more garlic and left it in rather than pulling it out, used spaghetti rather than angel hair, used chicken broth instead of wine, used Italian bread crumbs, doubled the sauce, and added some lemon juice. (Most of which were changes I had read in previous reviews). Adding the breadcrumbs slowly is a must. Thanks for this fun and simple recipe. I am happy to know I have something impressive to cook for guests.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: TAURPISC
Great! Since I used precooked shrimp, it took about 15 minutes to make. I think next time I won't defrost the shrimp before adding it, so that it won't get as overcooked.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: CookinMama
Ok, YUM!! I have never made shrimp scampi before and this was really good! I had to make 2 changes as I did not have bread crumbs on hand (thought I did when I settled on this recipe) or white wine (don't drink it). I did have chicken broth on hand and subbed it for the wine and crushed up caeser croutons to replace the bread crumbs. I had leftovers for breakfast and lunch the following day--couldn't stop eating it!! We adore garlic so I could help myself from using about 6 gloves sliced. Very high in calories but tasty for a once in a while supper! Thanks for such a yummy recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Momof2
This was good. I didn't discard the garlic...who would....YUMMY. I used fett. noodles instead of angel hair. I really liked the result. Thanks for the post.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: penguin
Very good base recipe. Actually could have another half star (4.5). Agree with others about way too much bread crumbs. Added shallots, extra garlic and sliced portabello mushrooms. For more flavor, added fresh parsley, a bit of nutmeg and some lemon pepper seasoning. Still tasted like something was missing, although the guests all loved it - even took home the leftovers!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: janice
A wonderful recipe. Fast easy and delicious. My whole family loved it.I minced the garlic and left it in, and substitued chicken broth for the wine.Try it you'll be glad you did!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: DMYCHALUK
A very simple recipe for scampi Not at all enough Garlic and why would you discard it? Try using 7-10 cloves and mince1/4 cup of onion in the mix with some fresh parsley.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: TESMARI
I minced the garlic and left it in. I crushed parmesan garlic croutons. I also added chopped parsley. It was delicious! It was fast and easy to cook. My family could not stop talking about how good the food was!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes