My Reviews (87)

Crunchy Chicken Fillets

Instant mashed potatoes make a great coating for deep fried chicken fillets. So easy and so light and crunchy! This is a great snack.
Reviews (87)


02 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Paula H
Just tried these for the first time, they are possibly the best chicken tenders I have ever made. I used "Idahoan Roasted Garlic" mashed potato mix which is better tasting than many of the others. I ended up having enough to cover two lbs of meat, but they are so good that was fine with me. Next time I will cut the salt back to 1 & 1/2 teaspoon, but other than that I love these! Thank you for posting. :-) PS I used a light olive oil, worked great. **Update, just made for second time. Added 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder & 1/4 cup parmesan cheese to the flakes. They were even better. After removing chicken, you can pour the left over milk in the frying pan, add flour & make gravy. Yum.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: Penny
This tastes great but I don't like frying so I baked it. It was great. I used instant loaded baked potatoes and added shredded cheddar cheese to mix. Covered the baking pan with a thin layer of olive oil. Placed coated chicken strips on pan bake on 350 degrees for 10 min then turn chicken over bake another 10 min. No frying and it was loved by the whole family.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: bakinglover86
These turned out FANTASTIC! Everyone in my house loved it. I actually didn't use garlic flavored. I just used buttery flavored instant mashed potato packets. It was good without all the garlic in my opinion. They were crunchy, juicy, and perfect!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: donna b
I made this and it turned out great. Also. my own little twist on 2nd batch--I deep fried and instead of potato flakes I used crushed corn flakes, also good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Pen
I made this and it was delicious. I didn't have packaged mashed potatoes, so I used a cup of potato flakes and added a tablespoon of garlic and 1/4 cup of Parmesan cheese. I also double breaded by dipping in flour before the milk mixture. I used just 1 cup of milk and while a lot was left over, it made the drenching easier. I might use a bit less next time, but not much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 May 2010
Reviewed by: joathome
This recipe interests me because of my diet. I don't combine grain products with meat. This means I never make crusted chicken bakes. However, potato flakes are not grain! I'm looking forward to using this idea in more recipes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 May 2010
Reviewed by: mary jane kail
Wish I could give this more stars. It deserves at least ten because of how easy it is. I followed the recipe exactly and my whole family loved it. Will be making this many times in the future. Next time I think I will use only one cup of milk with the egg as I had a ton of milk left over. Thanks for a really great recipe. Mary Jane
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 May 2011
Reviewed by: AndiCat798
This was delicious. No changes needed! Although I did forget to add the salt and pepper... Update: Made this again tonight and it was just as good. I'm going to try this on flounder next.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: mamaluvs2cook
This was great! I've made this twice now & the family LOVED it. I used only 1/2 package of flakes each time & it was more than enough. 1 1/2 c milk was also more than necessary if u don't want to waste milk. The second time I forgot to add the egg & it still came out good. Adding additional spices to the flake mix is also a possibility, depending on your taste, but by no means necessary. Thanks! We will continue to enjoy this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: davpet1969
I have used this recipe on chicken, venison, and fish and there are never any leftovers. I have always used Italian bread crumbs and flour, but not anymore. Now I pick up packets of instant potatoes every time I go shopping.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes