My Reviews (41)

Pork Chops in Mushroom Sauce

This is a very easy pork chops recipe with a sauce of white wine and mushroom soup. Serve over white rice.
Reviews (41)


15 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: DCGOURMET
I am a Personal Chef and Exec. Chef at a B&B so easy recipes when I come home are critical. This was delicious! I used bone-in pk chops, white zinfandel wine (all I had), seasoned with garlic slivers, kosher salt & ground pepper and added about 1 teas of Herbes'de province. I cooked it uncovered and made a thicker gravy which I used over Risotto cooked in chicken broth and onions. Also had a side dish of red cabbage. I entertained my boyfriend and he loved it as I did. Basic Rule of cooking - Take a basic recipe and tweak it to make it your own.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Alison W.
This was really good. I, of course, changed a few things. First, it only needs one can of mushroom soup. Secondly I added 8oz. of sliced mushrooms(no canned). Then, after I browned the chops and added the mixture to the pan, I put it into the oven (in oven-proof pan at 350) for 45 minutes. When finished, I removed the chops and added a flour and warm water mixture to make it a really good gravy. (1TBSP flour and 1/2 cup warm water) Then I poured it over the chops and served over rice. My husband and my kids loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 May 2001
Reviewed by: CBH10
This was very easy and tasty. It's a keeper. Only change I would make is to put in less (or no) water. The sauce was too watery for us.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: CookinBug
This was quite good. I only made 3 pork chops... omitted the water, used about 8 oz. white wine and 1 can of golden mushroom soup. The sauce wasn't thin at all, was perfect in fact. Served it over white rice. Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: MICKE
Excellent dish. I did add some onions when browning the chops, and used milk in place of water. I used an oven proof fry pan, transferred to oven after adding sauce and baked for hour at 350. Sauce was much thicker this way, more like gravy. Thanks for the great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Gary Vere - UK
This is a excellent pork chop recipe, I made it using fresh chestnut mushrooms, and a dry chardonay I also cooked it for two hours and served it with satuteed potatoes, wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: TFRIESEN
Tasted good but ...a cup of water? At least substitute with chicken broth or something that adds flavor to the party. Water is bland and makes for a bland dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: DesertBorn54
I never use "cooking wine" as I think that a wine labeled with that title is not of high enough quality to drink by itself. If it doesn't taste good by itself, it won't make your recipe taste good. You don't need to buy anything expensive, just something halfway decent. I used a chardonnay I had at home with tasty results.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Jesssica
I'm a newlywed, I just started cooking regular meals, and this was so easy! What's even better is that my husband loved it, and he's a picky eater! My only suggestion is to boil it down a little to make the sauce thicker. Serve the gravy on mashed potatoes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: JAdams
I used the "house white" at my house, which is Pinot Grigio, rather than cooking wine which I never have on hand. This was the most bland and uninteresting pork chop receipe I've ever made. We won't be having it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes