My Reviews (136)

Pork and Prawn Pancit

Pancit is a very popular Filipino noodle stir fry which combines prawns and pork with cabbage and onions.
Reviews (136)


23 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: LatinaCook
I loved experimenting with rice noodles. I have never used them before. I went to the grocery store with a copy of this recipe,the cashier is from Phillipines and suggested that I used green cabbage instead of Bok Choy, it worked very well and it was a lot cheaper anyways. I also used chicken instead of pork. I felt this needed more sauce so I increased the amount of oyster sauce and added some soy sauce as well. I loved this dish and it is so different from what I usually make, so it was fun.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Stephanie
A co-worker of mine made Panict for us a few weeks ago. It was the first time I had tried it and I fell in love. When I found this recipe I had to try making it my own. What an easy recipe to follow with yummy results! I also added carrots and snow peas. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: AvelaineS
I've been making pancit all my life and thank you, thank you for showing me a MUCH easier way to cook it! Growing up, I had only ever seen this cooked one way - stir fry the vegetables, then add the noodles - and I always hated how hard it was to stir after the noodles were added! All Filipinos have their own preference for their pancit - I like mine with soy sauce and lots of lemon. I use just about any meat and veggies I have available at the time. The oyster sauce is a nice touch.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Amalia E. Cooper
I made this dish as is, and was not impressed. My family did not like it. They prefer the original that I normally make which was an authentic recipe from a born Filipino friend of mine. She softened the rice noodles in water. She used extra virgin olive oil, 2 cloves fresh garlic minced, 1 onion diced, 1cup red cabbage shredded, 1 cup green cabbage shredded, 1 carrot shredded, salt and pepper to taste, soy sauce, shrimp/pork/chicken she would choose 1 or 2 of the meats. She has made this often for me. It tasted great. By the way...Oyster sauce is not used for this recipe as it is not the Fili way! I give 2 stars for effort!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: J Williams
This was yummy as expected... But adding carrots and snow peas is a must!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: STRETCHG
Rave reviews at my table, both for the flavour, and for the appearance. I used rice vermicelli noodles. And this recipe is quick: about 35 minutes after arriving home, it was on the table.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Donna Goodchild
I absolutely loved this! The sauce was delicate and flavorful. You could taste the other ingrediants because they weren't overwhelmed with sauce. I had never used bok choy before and wasn't sure which part to put in, so I cut up the dark leafy greens as well as the stalk-good to add for texture. When I tasted the bok choy raw, it tasted bitter so I chickened out and used half bok choy and half cabbage. I shouldn't of worried, the bok choy mellowed out with cooking--no bitter taste at all.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: WRUDD
very good recipe, but omitted the bok choy, sauteed pork tenderloin in oyster sauce, and would suggest using bean vermicelli instead of rice vermicelli, as rice vermicelli gets mushy quite easily. Otherwise excellent!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Sheriden
I thought this was great. I didn't change a thing; I think the bok choy is a very necessary ingredient! Very quick from prep to table. One of my new favorites.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
I love pancit and am happy to have found this recipe. Very traditional and so delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes