My Reviews (45)

Pancake Beer Batter for Fish

This amazingly easy recipe uses instant pancake mix to make a beer batter for fresh fish. Great for camping!
Reviews (45)


14 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Cyndi
This is good for veggies, peppers, eggplant, mushrooms, squash, fish, shrimp, chicken, onion rings, and dill pickle chunks. Similar to an old Bisquick recipe. First, before you fry anything, make sure your oil has a high smoke point (peanut or canola) so it doesn't burn too quickly. Second, heat your oil plenty hot, because if it is too cold, your food will be heavy and greasy. A bit of batter should float and sizzle in there at the right temperature without burning up. Third, wash and pat your food dry and dust it with some dry pancake mix before dredging it in the wet batter to make it stick well. Fourth, use the best beer you can afford and two tablespoons of a salty seasoning like cajun or Old Bay for flavor. Fifth, don't crowd your food, fry in multiple batches if necessary, and fry in hot oil until the food floats to the top and stays there.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: BSHIPP
I have been using a similar recipe for years and it is great for making onion rings too! My recipe calls for a dash of hot sauce and a few sprinkles of Old Bay seasoning added to the container. Very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: CHELS
I wouldn't call it quick; battering the fish can be a little time consuming. Won't deny that is indeed tasty though, and easy for the most part! Will definitely be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: camohn
I used tilapia as I am not a trout fan/it was a hit at home. My version was a 5 for us....I gave the version "as is" a 4 because it is a bit bland and I did make some minor changes. I added 1 tsp of baking powder and 1 TB of lemon juice....I do the same thing to the pancake batter at home for pancakes because it makes it lighter/fluffier...just a personal preferance.....so since I make my pancakes that way I did the same with a pancake based recipe. The thing that was more of an issue is this batter is a great base but totally lacks seasoning. I added 1/4 tsp each of salt, pepper, paprika, garlic and Cajun seasoning. To the person that it came out oily: sounds like your oil was not hot enough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: VINTAGELADYONE
If it sticks and soaks up the oil you probably cooked it in COLD oil....and probably didn't have enough....:>( you fry at ....375 degrees !!!! this recipe works just great !!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: swtdrms81
it was like eating fishy old beer tasting pancakes!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Melissa Goff
For poor man...this is great. The cost of the fish is not so great. But where I'm at I didn't have acccess to fresh, but it was frozen. Plus my grocer did not have trout. SO I purchased an arrange for fish selections to try & see what worked & tasted best with what was offered.. I purchased Cod, Tilapia, Perch & Flounder filets. Each had done rather well but there were some drawbacks.. While they were all good with the batter. The longer the batter sits as your dipping and frying the less the batter tends to be nice and thick. The Cod was the 1st to dunk into the batter & it puffed and golden really well & was a favorite. Totally delish, but the batter in the beginning has a slight sweetness to. But with the rest of the fish, that disappeared. Note: did use buttermilk brand. The perch had the skin on & that made my fish curl in the frying process & batter wasn't thick but rather thin. The Tilapia, I cut down the center & fried. It was also a favorite, the batter on the Tilapia was really nice & stayed well coated. The Flounder was delish as well & did the same thing as the Perch. It thinned. But as I realize in the process. The reason is because Perch & Flounder are moister & holds more liquids there for the water was sweating out threw the batter making it thinner. But it still worked. Using the cod & tilapia was quite nice. This is a quick and easy recipe. Will make again. I used wheat beer, will try a malt one next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Daniel Horak
Very good and fast recipe. I even try it on pork steaks, GREAT!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: PISTANDBROKE66
It doesn't get any easier than this! I used this recipe when I made fish for my wife and 75 yo mother. I got a thousand praises for it and thought I would pass some on to you! Plan on using this next time we camp. Thanks Psycho!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: jodigirlpa
This was a really good and really quick batter. I used it for frying onion rings and fresh veggies out of the garden. I used Krusteaz pancake batter mix and it turned out really good. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 though, just because I've made better beer batters before, but for the ease of this recipe, it is definitely a keeper and I will definitely use it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes