My Reviews (73)

Fresh Plum Crumble

Serve this warm with vanilla ice cream. It's a great way to sweeten the tart plums from the tree in your back yard.
Reviews (73)


27 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: CatherineMcCormackWall
First of all, I have to say that this is a delicious recipe! An excellent way of using seasonal fruit and the desert is huge so I highly recommend if you have a lot of mouths to feed (ie. morning tea at work?). The baking time for me was much longer than recommended. This could be my oven, or my baking dish, but I found an extra 30 minutes was required. The cake portion is quite dense so small pieces are fine to serve. The plums were delicious and tart and left me wanting more! Thank you for this recipe and I will definitely use again!!
 
19 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: pelicangal
Made this tonight for my DH and SIL, (sorry I don't care for desserts). They both gave this a solid 5 stars and said that it was really delicious. DH really wanted a second piece but he was already too full. I made this recipe exactly as posted. Thanks so much for posting this recipe. I will keep it in regular rotation, as it was fairly easy to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: BETHANYWEATHERSBY
Excellent plain or with vanilla ice cream! I'd recommend adding the milk one cup at a time so it doesn't splash everywhere when you mix it in. I'd also suggest not softening the butter in the topping and just cutting it into the mixed dry ingredients instead. If it's soft, then the topping is very gooey and not crumbly at all. Tastes fine either way, but it's just hard to glop the topping on the top of the batter if it's gooey.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Mark
I was looking for a new way to use our plums when I came across this recipe. This is the best plum desert I've had in a long time and everyone I fed it to thought it was fantastic. I did have to make one change thou, I had to bake it an additional 10 minutes as the center wasn't done. I will diffinently use this one again next year when my plums are ready. Thanks for sharing Mark
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: fisherwoman
Somebody complained about the taste of baking soda. I can't see anywhere in the recipe where it calls for baking soda.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: AMANDAYVONNE
I have never taken the time to rate a recipe, but this one is so good I had to. I will definately be making it again (and would probably be good with many other kinds of fruit as well). The cake is nice and fluffy with a good flavor. The only change I made was a substituted part of the white sugar in the topping with brown sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Brigitte B
We could taste the baking soda in this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Nici
Delicious! Didn't change a thing, and didn't need to! Sweet, tart, crispy and soft all in one pan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Monique
Made this withfresh plums that had to be used up. OMG it was delicious! I served it warm with a bit of whipped cream on the side. This is definitely a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Becca
This is delicious! I would have given it 5 stars, but I had to nearly double the cooking time. It is worth the extra time it takes to bake. When my husband tried it, his eyes got big and said, "Do you have any extra plums?!" So I'll be making another one today and will freeze it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes