My Reviews (157)

Easy Eggless Orange Cake

Sometimes all you want is a simple cake! Feel free to decorate it as you wish but I like it as is with a cup of tea.
Reviews (157)


06 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: Marthamb4
Worse recipe ever - was embarrassed to serve - thre it out
 
16 Jan 2017
Reviewed by: NooNooMac
I have to agree. This cake is tasteless. I won't make it again.
 
11 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: MGY
First made the cake per recipe. It was delicious, but a little heavy. Second time, used cake flour, increased vanilla extract to 1 tablespoon, and added 2 tablespoons white vinegar. Wow! No one can tell this is an eggless cake! My grandson is allergic to eggs, but can have his cake and eat it too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Deanna
My daughter has an egg allergy and I've tried several recipes including box mixes with egg substitutes. Every eggless cake I make is crumbly and doesn't hold together well. I was amazed how moist and solid this cake was after making it for the first time today. It was extremely easy to prepare. I baked it about 5 minutes too long because the outside of the cake developed a "crust" with a chewey texture. The crust is shiny. Other than that, the cake was very good. It rose very well and did not sink. I would probably add a little sugar when I make it again because I felt it needs to be a touch more sweeter. It has a hint of orange flavor and scent from the juice. I didn't use a mixer, just stired it until everything was thoroughly mixed. If you over mix an eggless batter, it will deflate. I would say this is the best eggless cake I've made to date and I will definitely make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: MIRADEARA
I am a preschool teacher & have a child w/an egg allergy in my class. We recently decided to make cupcakes for my co-teacher's birthday, so I was in search of a simple, easy (after all, this was cooking with 3 year olds), and most importantly delicious recipe. I was a little bit worried as some reviewers claimed it was obvious that it was egg-free to regular egg eaters. But, as an egg eater & dessert lover, I can honestly say this cake was better than the boxed stuff and just as simple to make! (Changes I made were 1 tbsp. vanilla & 2 tbsp. sugar to make it a touch sweeter. Cooked in cupcake pan for around 25-30 minutes.) So yummy, esp. w/vanilla frosting! Will definitely be making again for my class & for myself!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: gingersme
I really liked this recipe. I did not use orange juice, but used 1 cup of water + 1 T white vinegar. I decreased the butter to 3/4 cup, and I increased the vanilla to 1 T. It made 20 cupcakes, and my 8 yr old daughter and her friends loved them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: Sandy (FL)
I bake for a living and last year a mom requested a eggless cake for her little girls birthday party. She wanted one small eggless cake and another regular cake to serve her guests. Well this year she is ordering only a large eggless cake!! She said the cake was wonderful and everyone who tried it enjoyed it so no need to make a regular cake! I think it is wonderful that a little girl can have her beautiful birthday cake and eat it too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Cake Lady
My sister swears I added eggs. The cake is surprisingly moist. I added 2 tablespoons of superfine sugar and a tablespoon of Amaretto. I also reduced the butter by half, not because I wanted a healthy recipe but because the cake was greasy to touch. Even with less butter, this cake was still super moist and spongy. My family ate it quickly so I will offer it to my customers as an option.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: LIR
This is a fabulous cake. My little guy is allergic to eggs, and it has been difficult to find a "birthday worthy" cake. A great use of condensed milk, too--so easy, tasted great, not too sweet. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: T. MARTIN
Please note, for those of you out there who CAN eat eggs---pick another recipe. This cake is definitely plain (with a capital P!) but for those who cannot eat eggs I'm sure it is the best alternative. It definitely has a cake like texture and look but it tastes like cornbread to me. You cannot taste the orange juice at all and actually the cake is not very sweet which is probably where a glaze or frosting would help. After some additional thought Cream Cheese frosting might do wonders for this cake. Regardless, if you are going to make this be prepared to be VERY creative and dress it up somehow.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes