My Reviews (323)

Pepperoni Pizza Pasta Bake

A delicious and simple pasta bake with all the great flavours of pizza. Kids especially love this meal.
Reviews (323)


03 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: nicoles5
DELICIOUS! I only have a few suggestions: I like my pepperoni a little crispy so the next time I make this I will cook the hamburger and pepperoni together. Drain it then add the rest of ingredients. (My pepperoni was just too soggy.) I also put the cheese on top and then topped with more pepperoni. It just gave it a nice presentation. And lastly, you will definately need more spegetti sauce. I added 3/4 of another jar. My 5 year old loved this recipe. Next time I will make some garlic bread too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Jessica M.
A good tip to cut down on the greasiness of the pepperoni is to microwave the slices between paper towels for 30 seconds. The slices are still pliable and you wont be adding all that fat into the casserole. As written the recipe is pretty basic, I wanted to punch up the flavor. I cooked the beef, drained the fat and added chunks of red onion, minced garlic, red pepper flakes and oregano. I cooked that just for a minute or two. I used a pound of pasta because I think just 8 ounces is not enough for all of the meat in the recipe. I added sliced black olives also. It turned out good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Jeannine
I was looking for supper ideas and I found this recipe. It was so good! It was like a lasagna-type casserole. I browned the ground beef with seasoning salt, a dash of chili powder, hot sauce, and Italian seasoning. I added chopped pepperoni to the beef as well as chopped red onion, browned it all together, then added the mixture to the rotini with a jar of pasta sauce mixed with hot sauce. I topped it with mozza and a bit of cheddar, and sprinkled with a bit more Italian seasoning. I took the casserole out when the cheese was browned, and I sprinkled parmesan cheese on top. This recipe is basic and can very easily be tweaked, you don't have to follow the directions to the t if you don't want to. Next time I will add mushrooms and peppers to the casserole.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 May 2001
Reviewed by: Amanda
This was a very good basic dish and my son and husband liked it. I added Italian sausage and fresh mushrooms and it was very good. I also froze a portion of the casserole before baking; I thawed it later and baked, and it was delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: ELLICAY
My whole family loved this recipe. The sliced pepperoni was sticking together when I mixed it in though. So, I placed in on top before putting on the cheese, and that worked better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: ashley c.
Pretty good recipe. I was in a pinch for dinner, so I decided to try this one out. I used whole grain rotini pasta instead of regular. I used two 15 oz cans tomato sauce instead of the jar of spaghetti sauce (I didn't experience any dryness this way). I also used 2 cups mozerella along with about a cup of cheddar, and this turned out to be perfect. I didn't have any pepperoni, but neither I or my husband really missed them. My husband also doesn't like biting into onions, so I just used onion & garlic powder along with some Italian seasoning. I cooked the ground beef in extra virgin olive oil and we both agreed it was a good choice. The end result was tasty enough and easy to make. Next time I will toy around more with the seasoning. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Arizona Desert Flower
This is a very decent dish! My 7YO had 3 helpings, while my 2YO vacuum barely ate. I agreed with other users and used a full 16 oz bag of pasta (shells) and 1-28 oz can of pasta sauce mixed with 1 jar of pizza sauce. I added onion, bell pepper, and more italian seasonings. I used the stated amount of cheese. We definitely enjoyed it--I made two 8x8 pans...one for dinner and one to freeze. This recipe still needs something though. I will keep this recipe and play with it each time. Thanks for a great kick-start recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Runner_Jenn
This was VERY easy to make and tasted great! My husband and five year old son absolutely loved it! I added some extra sauce and extra cheese, not to say it needed it though! I just love it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 May 2008
Reviewed by: 5galsandadad
My family really enjoyed this. I skipped the pepperoni cuz most of us don't like it. However for a little more pizzaz I may add it next time, just finely chopped so the kids don't find it! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: juliamyerscarroll
This was a great dish. I used pizza sauce instead of spagetti sauce to give it more pizza flavor. I also have kids who are not big fans of pepparoni so I bought the mini ones already cut up from the bag. They loved them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes