My Reviews (29)

Pink Prawn Pasta Sauce

This is a delicious way to serve prawns over either rice or pasta, in a rich spicy pink sauce. You'll love it!
Reviews (29)


10 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: ILEANA-PR
I LOOOOVEEE this recipe!!! It tastes amazing!!! Very unusual flavor. Ginger lovers, this a recipe for you.I used half & half instead of heavy cream and tomato paste instead of the puree and it came out DELICIOUS!!!! I added some black olives and grated Parmesan and top yummyyyyy!!! Thanks for the recipe =)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2004
Reviewed by: ALLJAWNS2004
Very tasty recipe BUT - be careful with cumin. It is a very strong, pungent spice and I only used 1/2 teaspoon and it was still a little overpowering. But the ginger/garlic/lemon/cayenne/mustard seed combo has an AMAZING flavor! Also I used half and half instead of cream and it was still nice and creamy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 May 2003
Reviewed by: cindy
Excellent. I'm even asked to make it. I substitute fat free half and add a couple of tablespoons of wonder flour to thicken in place of the cream. You can also use powered ginger. We also use chicken which I think is even better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: hisdrinkoffering
This is actually really delicious and different. I have made it with shrimp and grilled chicken. If you make it with chicken, add peas. It's just great. Now, the actual recipe of this that originated with a renowned Indian chef calls for a full cup of tomato sauce (omitting the water) with the cup of heavy cream, so that is what I did, and I loved it. He also states the use of olive oil instead of veg. oil, so that is recommended, as it is healthier. I use the full amounts of everything, spices, etc. I wouldn't change the amounts at all. It is a rich, mouth-watering experience. Lovely and one of my new favorites. Not for the bland of palette. Great with a nice bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Zeyita
tasted ok, but was quite watery because i didn't use cream like they said and used milk instead. So if i had used cream this would have been a lot better i'm guessing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: PRICE1
This is one of my favorite Madhur Jaffrey recipes. Very easy and delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: holarosa
I substituted the heavy cream with evaporated goat milk (because of cow milk allergy and to reduce the fat and calories), and it came out really delicious. This sauce is interesting, kind of like a curry but not really like it served with pasta. Which I did, and it was soooo good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: ANGELAQ
incredibly tasty and easy to make!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: CINDYLOU0702
I'm nor sure if this sauce is officially considered a curry or not, but the closest thing I can compare it to is a tomato-based version of green curry sauce. It has the same spicyness with a cream base. I will be keeping this recipe in my repertoire for when I want spicy Indian food - it's easy to make & you can have most of the ingredients on hand; just buy the shrimp, ginger & cream when you're ready to make it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Momma's cookin'
This was good. I made the mistake of serving over ravioli, I should have used thin spaghetti. The sauce was disappointingly thin. It is spicy though, the kind of spicy that sneaks up on you. I need to come up with a way to thicken the sauce a bit. My husband doesn't want it again, so I don't think I'll have the chance.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes