My Reviews (8)

Pineapple Ring Cake

This is quite a dramatic pineapple cake but easy to make, perfect for birthdays and special occasions.
Reviews (8)


18 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Tanaquil
I didn't like this cake, taste wise or the method...I think the pan needs to be greased. Mine came apart trying to get it out of the pan. The taste was a bit like a store-bought sponge cake. We put fresh pineapple, whipped cream, and cherries on it and it was better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Sandra
it is delicious. but what i did, was when i got the cake out of the oven and waited for it to cool down, i soaked it briefly (5 mins) in pineapple juice. it was delicious. YUUMMMMMMY!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Ilovemy4kids
This recipe baked up sooooo light and fluffy, and I had no trouble taking it out of the pan. However, it was too sweet for my taste, and I can't quite taste the pineapple. It tasted like a sweet regular sponge cake. Next time I would use 1 cup of sugar, and added more pineapple juice. 5 star for texture and 4 stars for taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: momofapeanut
This turned out very good. Nice and light. I added crushed pineapple to the bottom of the pan before adding the batter. This kept the cake from sticking to the top and made it easier to remove.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: EILISH40
Lovely twist for a spong cake. For those that had difficulty getting out of the pan here are a few tips: make sure that pan is absolutely grease free and do not try to remove until cold. Hope this works for you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: fakeymcfake
I folded about 1-1/3 cup of drained crushed pineapple from a can along with the eggwhites into the batter, used lemon extract instead of the juice, and halved the amount of pineapple juice which was some of the juice from the can. Turned out exactly as a spongecake should. Don't be afraid of greasing the pan, if your pan isn't brand new chances are it might stick because the non-stick coating isn't intact. Garnished with a little double cream cheese frosting and maraschino cherries as suggested, made a lovely tea time cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Maria B
It was very yummy. I would make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Saira Jabeen
I agree with first poster it does fall apart, it turns out very crumbly... not very presentable. Taste was indeed good...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes