My Reviews (10)

Bacon and Sauerkraut Dumplings

This is a great Eastern European recipe for filled dumplings called pierogi. Top cooked pierogi with sauteed onions and melted butter. These also freeze well - just double the boiling time.
Reviews (10)


28 May 2009
Reviewed by: wolgastm
I hate pierogi. I don't know what compelled me to make this recipe. I figured I would try it, maybe it would be good for pierogi. Turns out it was good in general! I will now call these 'fun little pockets of happy goodness'.I did end up with extra dough. I don't mind though, I'm going to play with stuffing it with all kinds of food, including fruits and meats, try pan frying it after boiling it. This has huge potential.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jun 2001
Reviewed by: Robbie Rice
I used to eat the store-bought, but I can make a large batch of these, freeze them, and save $$$
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: LIBBY MCNULTY
I filled them with mashed potatoes and cheese. Delicious both ways!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: ALLISA2
Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: mstaz822
My grandma fills hers with all sort of different fillings. She also uses a cottage cheese gravy or white gravy over them. YUMMY!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2005
Reviewed by: WOJTEKC27
i love it
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: Joey Joan
I added mashed potatoes to the filling and I am very glad I did. So good you could eat that just as a side dish. The dough I followed the recipe word for word, it took 2 hours to complete, the 5th cup of flour scared me because it seemed like to much and the dough got so stiff. The pierogi I had after freezing them were much better then the ones I cooked fresh. However this is as close as I have come to making a good pierogi that wasn't to dough or off textured. Thank you for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2018
Reviewed by: Angela Altomare
These are very good rendition of Slovak Pirohy! My grandmother is from Czech Republic, so Pirohy are not native to her but her cousin married a Slovak(big scandal in the family) and would serve these at dinners. My grandmother fell in love with them and I tried them out for her. "Very close to Slovak recipe" she said. Just water needed to seal the dumpling though, don't waste an egg!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Aug 2016
Reviewed by: Carrie C.
The dough on this was spot on. It was easy to throw together, a little bit of a chore to roll out... definitely do it in sections. I used a mashed potato and cheddar filling. It made a lot but I had very few left to freeze after my family of 7 got through. I froze them before cooking. I served mine with fried cabbage and sauteed onions. I even fried a couple in butter after boiling, I preferred those ones... it really took them to the next level!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: Karen Cousineau
Good recipe except you do not have to use egg and butter to seal them closed. Just dampen with a little water will do. Also do not boil too long or they could open up.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes