My Reviews (244)

Mashed Potato and Bacon Casserole

This is an amazing mashed potato and bacon casserole using lasagne and plenty of cheese. A very hearty meal.
Reviews (244)


14 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: MONICA213
Here is what I did (my mom makes a dish similar to this)and it came perfect, first of all double the potatoes (to 10) milk (to 1 cup) and butter (to 12 TBS) when the potatoes are mashed mix into it the cheese and bacon mixture. Then layer potato, noodle, potato, noodle, potato, noodle. Top with 1 onion sauteed in 1/2 cup butter and cover with aluminum foil. Then bake covered. The noodles will not get hard and the dish will disappear before your eyes!! ;-) Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: RACHELABIGAIL
I changed the method for this recipe quite a bit, so I hesitate to review it. I can't resist though because it was so good! Here's how I made it. First I doubled the recipe, but still used a 9x13 pan to make a thick casserole. I mixed the cheese in with the hot mashed potatoes to make a filling more like what I am used to in a pirogi. For the assembly, I layered 1/4 of the mashed potatoes, then a little bit of the onion mixture, and then noodles. Repeated four times, ending with onion mixture on top. Because I was making this for a number of meals, I lined the 9x13 pan with foil first, and after assembly, chilled it in the fridge. When chilled ans solid, I turned the whole casserole out of the pan, removed the foil, cut the casserole in quarters, wrapped each quarter for the freezer and froze them to bake later. Worked great! The only change I would make is to make twice the amount of onions this recipe calls for and perhaps omit or cut back on the bacon. Served with sauteed shredded cabbage and fruit salad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: alyssa78
Very good! I made this as a side dish for my Super Bowl party (GO STEELERS). I didn't follow the exact directions of the recipe. I folded the bacon, onion and garlic combination into the mashed potatoes. I then layered it with the cheddar cheese. I also added a layer of noodles to the bottom of the pan, because it didn't say to. I covered the pan with foil and baked it for 30 minutes so the noodles would not get hard. I then took the foil off the dish and baked it uncovered for an additional 15 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Mema McDonald
My family loved this. I usually spend hours in the kitchen making pierogis with my mom and this was a perfect substitute. It became my kids favorite in minutes and they wanted more. I blend the bacon, a few tsp of grease and cheese in with the potatoes instead of butter, salt & pepper, then layer with more cheese. Not so healthy w/grease, but so tasty! Like the real thing. So excited to have found it. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Jackie Mac
This is a great recipe. I cheated and used instant potatoes and substituted shredded marble for the cheddar so the taste wouldn't be quite as sharp. I baked it for 20 minutes covered with aluminum foil (so the noodles wouldn't dry out) then removed the foil and baked for another 20 minutes. My family loved it and it even tasted great heated up in the microwave the next day! I definately am going to make this one again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Mark & Amanda
We loved this recipe. It was easy to make and had all the flavor of the labor intesne pierogi. We also added a layer of sauerkraut.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: GINNYG
I have to admit, I was a little weary of trying this recipe...but it really turned out really good. I added mushrooms and topped it with sour cream. Hubby says he would like to have it again...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
Nice dish and loved by my family. After reading the other reviews I decided to make a cheese sauce for the top of the casserole to eliminate the problem of the noodles drying out. I simply made a roux, added milk, stirred until thickened and added shredded cheddar cheese. (the same recipe you would use for baked mac and cheese)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Dianemwj
I made this pretty much as written except to cook a whole pound of bacon and put half of it right on in the mashed potatoes. Also, I didn't brown the bacon in butter because, after all, it is bacon and it makes plenty of it's own grease. I cooked the onions and garlic in the bacon grease after removing the bacon from the pan. Other wise, I followed the recipe. I liked it a lot, but my husband thought it was just okay. We have tons of leftovers, so I guess I'll be eating this for breakfast for awhile.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: lovestohost
Just ok. I probably will not make again; not enough taste to justify the high calorie to low nutrient ratio. I made according to directions, except I added a layer of whole wheat noodles as the bottom layer to prevent sticking. I also used "real bacon pieces" instead of frying bacon (I added them to the onion garlic saute) and folded 1/2 of that mixture into the potatoes and used the other 1/2 on top (under the second 1/2 of the cheese). Maybe it will be better left over for lunch tomorrow. My husband liked it, so I'd probably actualy rate it about a 31/2. Thanks for something different!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes