My Reviews (14)

Tofu Pasta Sauce with Pesto

This is a great twist on your standard pesto pasta sauce. Sometimes I add a little garlic to the recipe.
Reviews (14)


01 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: NANONLINE2
I've been looking for a low-carb, relatively low-fat, protein dish and here it is! I must admit, however, that what I made may not be very close to the original because I had to make alterations to lower the fat and especially the salt. Since the pesto mix counted for 400mg sodium per tablespoon, I decided to adapt it (only I didn't pay attention to the seasonings in it). This is what I did: instead of the mix, I used about 3/4 of a 5.5oz jar basil in water, 1/4 cup ground pine nuts, 1 cup skim milk, 2 large cloves of garlic, minced, 1 T. olive oil, 1T. corn starch in the hopes of thickening the sauce, and put all 1/4 c. Parmesan cheese into to sauce. I left extra Parmesan cheese out for family members to sprinkle on top. Everything turned out well except for the thin sauce but perhaps I could heat it before adding it to the mushrooms, tofu, and olives. I'm going to continue to "play" with this recipe using different milk, seasonings, etc. but will definitely make it again and again. (No one even noticed the tofu and since I didn't say it was in the meal, everyone was happy!) Thanks, Veronica!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: SMELPUP
Both excellent and easy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: NKAC
I thought this recipe was very easy and very good. As long as you like all the ingredients it should work for you. I cooked recipe exactly as written with the exception of adding double the capers, because my family loves them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: kay444
Excellent! I toned down the pasta to about 1/2 what's called for, and stirred it into the pesto mixture at the end. I suggest making small cubes from the tofu to make everything more bite-sized. Also, I browned the tofu for about 25 minutes, which gave a nice crispy outer edge. If you're cooking for one, know that it makes for great leftovers!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: kraterman
My husband has never had tofu and does not care for veggies, but this recipe changed his mind! He loved the tofu and said this was something he would have again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: KSKEMP
This was my first attempt at tofu other than in hot and sour soup. I did not care for it and neither did my husband. I did like it, other than the tofu, but it would have been tastier with the pesto sauce not so watered (milked) down. I may try it again (sans tofu) with two pkgs sauce cooked according to pkg directions with double the mushrooms and capers. I never would have thought of capers and the dish smells sooo good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Courtney Gale
Loved it! I used about half the amount of mushrooms and didn't add any cheese and it was superb!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: princess of doom
Fabulous. I added tomato's, bacon, and feta. This was the best thing I've eaten in a while.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Kgaief
The recipe is a great concept. I think I somehow messed it up though because I just could not get the tofu to brown. I cooked my tofu for awhile and it kept on breaking into chunks and not browning. Does anyone have any ideas on how to cook tofu better!??
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 May 2010
Reviewed by: jmpasch
very tasty and comes together fast! will definitely use this recipe again! YUMMY!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes