My Reviews (96)

Easy Lobster Bisque

When you feel like splurging on lobster try this delicious bisque. Your guests will be impressed and feel pampered. I serve this with salad and hot, buttered French bread.
Reviews (96)


05 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Sookie
With the following changes, you'll never want for another seafood bisque recipe! I used just 8 oz chicken broth and for the remaining liquid I reserved the juice from the lobster and added clam juice to make up the difference. I then whisked in 3oz tomato paste and put it all in the soup. I used 1/4 c white wine (instead of 1/2c) and 1/4c sherry. It was ABSOLUTELY incredible! *Works well with crab as well or a lobster/crab combo.*
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: CHRISANDY
I've used this recipe with some modifications based on all of the reader reviews & it always comes out great. I use my hand blender to blend the vegetables & seafood, because I found that transferring to the countertop blender was too messy. Also, I add clam juice instead of broth, as it gives it more of a seafood flavor, and I skip the wine. I also use just celery & onions and not the carrots & mushrooms. I also use imitation crab & lobster meat sometimes, or throw in scallops and/or shrimp. The base is excellent, and the cayenne pepper gives it just enough kick! I forgot to mention that I also add a small can of tomato paste and blend it with the vegetables and broth/clam juice. It helps thicken the bisque a bit and also gives it more flavor and color.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: IMVINTAGE
ORIGINAL REVIEW 1/3/05---I didn't add all the veggies to mine. I doubled the amount of onions & celery & omitted the carrots & mushrooms. I decreased the butter by 1 tbp. to account for the lack of veggies. The wine sauce was a bit strong (I used a good chardonnay)...next time I will use just a bit less wine. All in all, very very good! UPDATE 7/24/06---Made this again using all the veggies & using leftover lobster tails (we purposely made extra for this recipe) & this time I simmered the lobster tails (I removed the meat) in the soup & then removed them before serving. WOW! It added such great flavor!!!! Also, this time I used a pinot grigio & even added a bit extra & the wine taste wasn't overpowering at all.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: BARBIEL
While this wasn't too bad, it just didn't measure up without additions. It didn't thicken up enough to please us! I added a tablespoon of tomato paste, and thickened it at the end with flour mixed with heavy cream. Also added additional lobster meat at the end.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: COOKINGPRINCESS79
This recipie was awesome. Thanks Laura. I used 12oz of crawfish meat in place of the Lobster and it turned out really good. I also used some corn startch to thicken it. We had high expectations and they were met!!!! Yummy!!! I will definatly make this again...and again..and again!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Alli
Very good. Try Dry Sherry instead of wine! Dry Sherry was made to go with seafood dishes. will make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: LisaKGirl
I love this recipe! My husband said it's better than what he has had at restaurants. I have already made this several times and will pull out this recipe when I want to make it a very special dinner. I've even made it once without the mushrooms and it was still excellent.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: HeCooksToo?
This bisque is soooooo good. Just like at my favorite restaurant. Simple to prepare.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Dolphins Fan
This is the best soup I've ever made. Very easy and wouldn't change a thing. It's not a very thick bisque but has incredible flavor. I used crab meat instead of lobster and it was great!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: selena
My mother in law was coming over for dinner and I wanted to make something special. I went to the local asian supermarket and bought a live Maine lobster to use. I followed the recipe to a T minus the wine. My mother in law is a recovering alcoholic and won't even eat things made with alcohol. So I substituted with chicken broth. This was by far the best lobster bisque I have ever had! We served it exactly as you said, with hot bread and butter, and a salad. Absoulutely wonderful!!!!! If I could give it more than 5 stars, I would.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes