My Reviews (120)

Easy Pecan Cheesecake

I wanted to make cheesecake simpler but not sacrifice quality. Since it needs to be left in the oven for at least 6 hours after baking, it's good to make it before bed and chill it in the morning.
Reviews (120)


23 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: Whitianga
Awesome Recipe. Turned out great
 
01 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: naples34102
Cheesecakemama, you sure have earned your moniker! I admit, I was skeptical about the baking method as well as the large amount of sour cream for just two packages of cream cheese. But you were right - this turned out perfectly just as you said it would! This is a light and creamy cheesecake, far different from some of the more dense, heavy and kind of dry cheesecakes. You were right on about the cheesecake not cracking too! Your recipe is perfect for any baker, novice or experienced. For my own preference, however, the crust was a little thicker than I would like, so next time it will be easy enough to cut it back to maybe one cup of crumbs to suit my tastes, but others may like it just as is. Delicious on it's own or with any variety of toppings, I served this with Supreme Strawberry Topping, recipe also from this site. I'm so happy your wonderful recipe got published - not just for you, but for the hundreds of home bakers I know are going to be pleased with it too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I used cinnamon grahams and chopped pecans, as cheesecakemama recommended in her own review/update of her recipe. I made no other changes. First attempt at a real-real cheesecake and honestly, I don't know why I was so worried about making one. It's really not all that difficult. I followed the directions exact. When the cheesecake was finished cooling, I spread Supreme Strawberry Topping all over the top, as my sister in law LOVES strawberry cheesecake. No idea how it tastes, but just because it was so simple and not scary to prepare, it's earned all five stars. I'll update my review once I hear from my SIL how much she loved it. NOTE: She loved it, as did my brother in law. Rock on! This one's a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2009
Reviewed by: Cheesecakemama
I am the submitter of this recipe. I use pecans not walnuts, but you can use any kind of nuts you like in the crust or leave them out, it just gives it more texture. You can change up the recipe and use different things for the crust, shortbread cookies or oreos come to mind. You can also add different flavors to the cheesecake, use my recipe as a base and have some fun! I recently have discovered for a short cut if I add another cup of sour cream to the recipe and use the 2 of the ready made crusts. I have a great dessert really quick for a carryin or party. Remember it freezes well, freeze in slices for a special treat. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Sue Manah
The proportions of your ingredients is almost exactly the same as the recipe I've used for years, so I'm sure it's great, BUT yikes! I teach food safety, and I would never recommend leaving anything with eggs or dairy products in an oven overnight or at room temperature for as many hours. CAUTION! Finish cooking, and refrigerate after it cools. Otherwise, you'll be playing kitchen roulette!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2009
Reviewed by: Luis Bueno
I'd never made a cheesecake before in my life but finally got nerve enough to try one. I reviewed many but settled on this one because it seemed simple and straightforward. While it was relatively simple, the flavor was anything but. This cheesecake was fantastic and certainly a crowd-pleaser. I'll be making this again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: mrs.embee
I had a hard time deciding on a rating for this cheesecake ... I give 3 stars for "average" recipes that I might or might not try again. This cheesecake could be spectacular - for someone who likes very light, airy cheesecake. My husband and I prefer a denser, NY-type cake. I knew this wasn't going to be incredibly dense by the ratio of cream cheese and sour cream, but I guess I didn't expect it to be SO very light. It was very easy to throw together and neither of us is complaining about having to eat the rest of it, but I won't make it again. So 4 stars for what it is: a light, airy, fluffy, tangy *slightly* reminiscent of a pudding dessert, but 3 stars for what it was in comparison to what we consider a cheesecake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: MrsRPM
This was simply the BEST and easiest cheesecake I have ever made!! I always make NY style, and thought that was the end all to be all UNTIL I was recommended this one!! To die for! Didn't change a thing, except that I baked it for 45 mins. and then shut the oven off and let it sit overnight! Made some strawberries and glaze to top it off with whipped cream, and VOILA!!! Perfection! Thanks Cheesecakemama! You truly live up to your name!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2009
Reviewed by: Keri
I am not a fan of cheesecake, but my mother loves it. I made this for her as a surprise welcome home dessert when she was sent to Ohio recently for a training seminar for work. After she got done raving about how wonderful the texture and flavor of this cheesecake are, she convinced me to take a small taste. I immediately went into the kitchen and cut a big piece for myself afterwards! Excellent recipe that I will absolutely make again and again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Bernie
Hello old friend! I made your wonderful cheesecake, for my son in law's birthday cake, and it was PERFECT! I'm so happy to be able to finally add a review to this fantastic recipe! I wouldn't change a THING! The flavor was spectacular, and the appearance was ... well, PERFECT! I'm glad AR finally published your wonderful recipe! ♥
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes