My Reviews (50)

Chewy Vanilla Pecan Bars

These pecan bars are deliciously soft and chewy. They are very quick and simple to make, which is how I like it!
Reviews (50)


08 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Michael Carmody
Came out perfect the first time. Soft and gooey while still warm, then deliciously chewy the next day. I didn't have self-rising flour so I added baking powder and salt (the standard cheat). Excellent recipe; will definitely make again SOON!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: JIMMYGIRL
I don't know if I did something wrong, I followed everything word for word??? They tasted good but I had to use 1/4 cup more of butter because the batter was so dry. The batter is not spreadable so be prepared to push and mold it into the pan. I would make again just to try to see if I did something wrong.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: NANCYNANCY
These are soo good!! Like a butter pecan brownie. 5 stars cause it's so easy to put together and because they are soo good!! My dough was crumbly too, I just worked it together with my hands and then pressed it into the pan. Awesome Tonya!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: WRLDTRAVLR
In one word: YUM! These are simply scrumptious. I followed the recipe as written. Next time I think I will use a baking sheet to achieve slightly thinner bars. Tastes like the perfect combination of pecan pie and a blondie (vanilla brownie).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: user
I love this recipe. Don't over cook the butter and sugar, just melt till all wet and stirring smoothly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: kayzee
This turned out horrible, but I gave it 3 stars since I might have been responsible for that! I used all-purpose flour instead of the required self-rising flour...I don't know if this was responsible, but the top and sides were baked beautifully, but the inside was gooey and uncooked. The batter tasted delightful so there's potential...but again it could have been my fault
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: tracy
Just like Mom made when I was younger. Great treat with coffee.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2011
Very good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: sharon
Excellent recipe! The brown sugar/butter mixture seemed thick or dry before I added the eggs, but by the time I added the rest of the ingredients, the batter was perfect. The result is a delicious treat that is somewhere between a blondie and pecan pie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Dovie
I made these yesterday and my husband took them to work this morning. He has already called me to say that 2 people at his work wanted to know how much I would charge them to make them some? They where simple to make and oh so good. It reminded me of a chewie cookie thingie my grand mother use to make. A keeper for sure and with pecan season just a couple months away, I'm sure I will be making many more batches. Thanks for sharing the recipe with us.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes