My Reviews (8)

Spiced Caramel Pear Cake

A beautiful three layer pear and spice cake, held together with a cooked caramel icing. Very special!
Reviews (8)


10 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: DICIA
This was a delicious spice cake with good texture from the pears and pecans. I did not make this a layer cake with icing, I made a bundt and omitted the icing completely as I think it would have been way too sweet for my tastes. I used spiced pears so I cut back the spices just a tad (used about 3/4 tsp per spice) and the flavor was perfect!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Ginette
Great cake! It is fluffy and light (so beat the sugar and the butter really good). Instead of making the carmel sauce, I found a recipe for cream cheese glaze and drizzled that on. Will make again since we have three pear trees!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: JessicaRose
I did this cake in a bundt pan and drizzled/frosted with maple icing (aka easy penuche frosting). The absolute best harvest time cake/dessert I've made in years!!! Nice change from all the apple dishes this time of year. Wonderful recipe!! If you use the bundt pan though, you're gonna have to add at least 15 minutes to the cooking time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2012
Reviewed by: Lily
Didn't taste the Pear's (which was OK for me as I don't like pear's), I didn't use much icing on it and I kinda wish I had... Will make again, only next time I will actually put the icing on the cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: CQuinn
Recipe correction - I am new to baking and did not know this. When making the frosting, the recipe states it should be of soft ball consistency. You should take a spoon and drip frosting into a glass of water to check consistency. I didn't know this and over cooked the icing. Other than that, the cake was really good. The icing is not really required. Although I did enjoy breaking my icing and eating it like candy. LOL.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Jessica Buchanan
I love this recipe, it needs no adjustments. I made this cake using my own homemade pear preserves and served it at my family reunion. I will make this again and again (or at least until I am out of homemade pear preserves and have to can more) and it is printed and in my recipe book to be baked for years to come I serve the cake topped with vanilla glaze and decorated with a handful of candy corn. Thank you for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: CHAOTICBLISS
Pretty unremarkable. Has a good texture, but the flavors don't stand out at all, other than sweetness from the icing. Will not make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Sep 2015
Reviewed by: Linny
Sorry I'm not able to show pic! Have to get my daughter over to help me do that!! I made the cake "exactly" as written. I put the batter in 3 ceramic loaf pans (like Temptations on QVC!) I baked for 35 minutes and they were a real golden brown on top and sides. Pretty moist on the inside. Tasted delicious and reminds me of something for a Thanksgiving breakfast or lunch. I didn't ice but will use a powdered sugar drizzle on one I have frozen. But the cake stands by itself and is very good. Next time I'll bake in a bunt pan!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes