My Reviews (580)

Pork Chops with Paprika and Sour Cream

When I was a bachelor living with two other mates, this was a feast for us! Basically, pork chops are served with a sour cream and paprika sauce. Crème fraîche works well too.
Reviews (580)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
KUBINATOR said:
Made it vegetarian. We loved this dish! I didn't seperate the onions/garlic from the chops - just sauted and simmered w/ them the whole time. Also - I added a splash of white wine and used 3 bay leaves and added some crushed, dried rosemary. These three additions alone added great flavour to the chops. Finally, I did need to add some cornflour to the gravy so that it would thicken like we prefer - but no big deal. I was worried that my family would not be happy with a side dish of mash two nights in a row BUT since I had this great gravy to pour over them: my family was very pleased. This is a great recipe Clyde - thanks for posting it!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
POCHY183 said:
Something else. I have been making this recipe for awhile, and have just gotten around to reviewing it. Both my husband and I think it's fabulous!! I use four large boneless chops, 2 cloves of garlic, and half chicken stock / half white wine. I also usually substitute 2 tsp. cajun seasoning for the 2 tsp. paprika. The sauce can be a bit tricky! Make sure you definitely reduce the juices by half, when you remove the chops, or the sauce won't be thick enough. Also, once stirring in the sour cream, do not allow the mixture to boil, or it will separate, and ruin the sauce. Once done, I serve chops and sauce over hot, buttered pasta. Scrumptious!! Thanks for a great favourite in our house!
 
01 Jul 2017
Reviewed by: lilcamable
So, I read this recipe and thought, great, this sounds like something me and Hubby would enjoy. However, during the cooking process I began to feel slightly apprehensive, it didn't look fabulous like I thought it would. However, I continued and followed the recipe to a 'T', except for the cream. I reduced the amount of cream by a third and thickened the sauce by using cornflour, just a teaspoon. Served it up with mashed potato, roasted pumpkin and green beans. OMG! What a wonderful dish. Yes I will cook this again. In fact, the sauce was so good, the left over sauce I poured into a zip lock bag and froze it for use on other meat. Wonderful recipe. Will do again.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Something else. Definitely an easy and yummy recipe!! However, SOMETHING was missing (for me at least). Instead of the two tsps. of paprika recommended, I added ONE tsp. of SMOKED paprikia. Also, I used fat free sour cream although at the end of cooking the sauce, I added one heaping tspn. of cornflour mixed with one tbsp. of water and added that mix to the sauce. We absolutely LOVED the flavour. Also, we DID simmer the porkchops for an hour because we like them fork tender. WOW!! Great recipe. Thanks so much.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: JEANIRVIN
This is a great recipe. I didn't change anything and thought it was perfect.
 
09 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: LITTLEOTISCHEF
I have been making this recipe for awhile, and have just gotten around to reviewing it. Both my husband and I think it's fabulous!! I use four large boneless chops, 2 cloves of garlic, and half chicken broth/ half white wine for the 3/4 cup broth. I also usually substitute 2 tsp. cajun seasoning for the 2 tsp. paprika. The sauce can be a bit tricky! Make sure you definitely reduce the juices by half, when you remove the chops, or the sauce won't be thick enough. Also, once stirring in the sour cream, do not allow the mixture to boil, or it will separate, and ruin the sauce. Once done, I serve chops and sauce over hot, buttered noodles. Scrumptious!! Thanks for a great favorite in our house!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: DREGINEK
We loved this dish! I didn't seperate the onions/garlic from the chops - just sauted and simmered w/ them the whole time. Also - I too added a splash of white wine and used 3 bay leaves and added some crushed, dried rosemary. These three additions alone added great flavor to the chops. Finally, I did need to add some cornstarch to the gravy so that it would thicken like we prefer - but no big deal. I was worried that my family would not be happy with a side dish of mashed potatoes two nights in a row BUT since I had this great gravy to pour over them: my family was very pleased. This is a great recipe Clyde - thanks for posting it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: MOMMADOT
Definitely an easy and yummy recipe!! However, SOMETHING was missing (for me at least). Instead of the two tsps. of paprika recommended, I added ONE tsp. of SMOKED paprikia. Also, I used fat free sour cream although at the end of cooking the sauce, I added one heaping tspn. of cornstarch mixed with one tbsp. of water and added that mix to the sauce. We absolutely LOVED the flavor. Also, we DID simmer the porkchops for an hour because we like them fork tender. WOW!! Great recipe. Thanks so much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Crystal S
Preparing for the reveiw, I followed the recipe exactly as written. While this was good, I expected more and the flavor of the paprkia through it off for me. Perhaps more garlic, and less paprika next time I give it a try would enhance this dish. However, this will be a "change of pace" recipe, but not one I will keep in my "go to" list of family favorites.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Richele Rodgers Clark
I have made this at least 50 times and it's a hit always, thanks - update - I have to add that IT IS IMPERATIVE that you reduce the juices in the pan to at least 1/2. Yummy as always - I've made it with chicken several times too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes