My Reviews (416)

Spaghetti with Peanut Ginger Sauce

This is an Asian-themed pasta dish which uses spaghetti instead of Chinese noodles. Tastes equally good cold or warm.
Reviews (416)


13 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: ROLLERSGIRLY
This was fantastic! Adding one clove of garlic with the ginger was my only change. Other than that, I kept it the same. My picky 7 year old gobbled it right up. I even ate some cold the next day, though it is much better warmed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: M. Stoffel
This recipe turned out really well for us. I did add closer to 1/4c of peanut butter but still didn't think there was quite enough peanut flavor. I subbed the same amount of rice noodles for a dish more Asian-style and we both really liked the change. I will definitely make again after fiddling with the sauce, thanks so much for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Catherine
I liked this, but I feel like it would be better with rice noodles, and next time I am adding more Peppers and some other veggies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 May 2003
Reviewed by: TSTANKUN
I tweaked the recipe a little, but it still was a huge hit at the party I took it to. I used half as many onions as called for, and made up the other half with fresh cilantro sprinkled on top as a garnish. I only used half as much oil (olive, not sesame) as suggested to saute the onions, and added sliced carrots in about halfway through the process. I used fresh ground ginger paste instead of minced, and added about half as much minced garlic as there was ginger. I also reduced the soy sauce by half and increased the sugar to almost twice as much (my vinegar--rice vinegar, not cider-- was a little strong). The result was quite tasty, almost a pad-thai like sauce, though when the noodles cooled a bit the sauce got sticky (as peanut butter tends to do). I don't know if it would be as good cold-- it was all gone before it had the chance to cool off that much! Good for a buffet party, where people can take as much or as little as they want-- kind of heavy for a stand-alone side dish or entree.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: MKAYSER
Wonderful! I used SDTERP's recommendations (add a few cloves of minced garlic, triple the ginger and cut the soy sauce roughly in half). I also added chopped red bell pepper, roughly chopped baby bok choy, sliced zucchini, and sliced carrots. Finally, I doubled the recipe. The result was truly wonderful. The explosion of ginger, peanut butter, sesame oil and soy sauce flavors in the mouth is memorably good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Sara L.
Love this sauce. The first time I followed the recipe exactly. So yummy, and no leftovers. I really liked the sauce, but I'm trying to stay away from pastas so I tried the sauce with stir fry vegetables. It was super yummy, and again no left overs. I had some extra sauce so I froze it for future use. That worked fine to, it freezes well. Great recipe, thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: APCOOKING
I give this a raving 5 stars -- but keep in mind I made some changes as follows. Because of what I had on hand I used ground ginger and balsamic vinegar. I used egg noodles. I didn't "fry" the onions, but rather, used two green onions entirely, and put them in fresh & chopped. I added lots of corriander and orange peppers and cucumber. Like this, this was deeeelicious, both warm and cold. (As a note, this makes A LOT of sauce, but that's fine by me, as there is some left over for tomorrow! Might use it as a tofu marinade.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: KEG18
what a great, simple recipe! the first time i made this, i used spaghetti as called for in the recipe. this time, i used rice noodles - a big improvement! i also added some thinly sliced baby carrots, and used chili/garlic paste in place of the red pepper flakes. makes it a little bit spicier!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: Jimmmmbodhi
One of my favorites so far. Great tasting and nicely authentic. A great recipe to show off. Like other users, I too recommend some twitches: Add a bit more water, peanut butter, red pepper flakes. Also I used apple cider vinegar, added sesame seeds. DELICIOUS!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: LYNNINMA
My, this was delicious and very easy to put together with staples I already had in my pantry. Changes made: I used 1/2 tsp. ground ginger (I had no fresh and was too lazy to make a trip out to get some); tossed the hot drained pasta with a little toasted sesame oil which really added a depth of flavor; added 2 cloves minced garlic (I felt the dish needed it) and 1 carrot, cut into small matchsticks and sautéed them with the onions; finally, garnished the finished dish with chopped roasted peanuts, additional sliced green onions (green part) and toasted sesame seeds. Next time I make this I may add chicken strips or some shrimp. Truly a winning dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes