My Reviews (120)

Fudge Cake with Peanut Butter Glaze

It first seems like a regular chocolate cake but what a difference! Peanut butter is the magic ingredient. It is spread between the cake and the icing.
Reviews (120)


09 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: lperejma
Excellent cake! It is very rich though, so eat in small portions. I found it was easiest to microwave the peanut butter for 30 seconds and then pour in on.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Miss Josey
This cake caused arguments in my house. "What do you mean you ate the last piece!?" arguments. It was absolutely dense, rich, and delicious. I did make a few changes. I didn't spread the peanut butter layer alone; I was mixing the icing when we got a call and had to leave the house quickly, when we returned, the icing had hardened in the mixer, so I added the peanut butter directly to it and some light cream to bring it to the right consistency and voila! I will definitely make this cake many, many times, especially when I eat the last piece! Try this, you won't be disappointed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: What a Dish!
Very rich and yummy cake! I love peanut butter and chocolate. I've never made a cake where you first cook the butter, cocoa and eggs together on the stove so that was interesting. When I was cooking the frosting mixture, at the last minute the butter separated out and looked gross and greasy, but mixed fine with the powdered sugar. The chocolate frosting is my favorite part! I used Adam's natural peanut butter, which seemed to go well because the rest of the cake is so sweet. I used a whole 16 oz. jar! I also used a 16 oz. bag of powdered sugar for the frosting. A good use of my buttermilk that was really needing to be used! Try this recipe, it's yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: COOTIESMOM
This is the best cake ever! I have made a recipe identical to this for years! If you add like 1/4 cup of peanut oil to the peanut butter it makes it easier to spread. This is a moist, dense cake that freezes well. You will not be disappointed with this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: AngPayne
This is a very good chocolate cake. It is more like a sheet cake, and very moist. It is so good with the peanut butter. I added milk chocolate and peanut butter chips to the batter and it was great. I took this to a group get together and everyone loved it. I will make it again for sure!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Taryn
This recipe was not nearly as wonderful as I thought this would be based other's recipes. My husband thought is was *okay*, but I could have saved a lot of time by making a chocolate cake the "normal" way without all the hoopla this recipe puts you through, open up a can of fudge frosting and mix in some peanut butter and I think I would have gotten much better results. Would not make this cake again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: BunnyGirl
I made this for a friend's birthday and it was a big hit. The peanut butter layer is what makes this cake, and no one could figure out what made it so great. Also mixing the peanut butter with a tablespoon of vegitable oil before spreading on the cake makes all the difference!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: EASYLYVIN
This was OK. I really was expecting this to be spectacular from the other reviews I had read. My husband and I thought the frosting was WAY too sweet. Kids liked it, though. There are much better recipes out there for the peanut buttery or fudgey that you crave. Sorry, I won't bother with this recipe again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 May 2005
Reviewed by: DANAJ900
I made this for my mom on Mother's Day. It was wonderful and my mom and grandmother both said it was the best cake they'd ever tasted. I tried to make this into a layer cake, but the icing is so thick and rich, I think it would do better in a 9x13 inch pan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: jessitlv
This is fudge on top of a very sweet cake, It was just too sweet overall for us.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes