My Reviews (8)

Kidney Bean Pasta Salad

This salad is best when prepared a day ahead. It's one of the best tasting pasta salads I have ever had.
Reviews (8)


11 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: Kim
This is a terrific recipe. I made it for a road trip to Phelps, Kentucky to visit my Aunt Norm and Uncle Opie. It traveled in a cooler from Niceville, Florida and we ate it for lunch at a rest stop on the way as well as sharing it with family when we got there. My Aunt says it would be a good dish to serve at the church my Uncle Opie pastors.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2009
Reviewed by: Mama Pepper
Liked this recipe a lot, found that for leftovers I needed to make more dressing.I think you could add any ingredients you like in a pasta salad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: Molly
Wow, this little gem of a recipe only has 2 reviews (’02 & ’09) and was “faceless” for at least 11 years. I’m glad I discovered it, as my family loved it. I subbed black beans for the kidney beans as we are not huge fans of them, but love black beans. Reading the ’09 review, they mentioned need extra dressing. I prepared 1 ½ batches of dressing BUT ONLY used 2/3 cup of sugar that 1 batch called for. It has a very slight tang, but we prefer that over sweet. This would be very easy to modify using veggies that your family enjoys. I made this for lunches this week (3 packers) and wanted something besides a mayo based dressing. I know I will be making this one again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: Chicken Lover
This salad was a real hit! I have made it twice and after 2 adjustments it is perfect for me. I used 1/3 C sugar and olive oil in place of the butter. That kept fork from getting coated with butter. The great thing is you can use other vegetables and different beans. Will use often!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: MissJosies
Made this today for the first time, I used garbanzo beans, frozen pea's (thawed), fresh carrots, cauliflower, broccoli (what I had on hand) I also doubled the dressing and used Stevia in place of sugar, and a Bavarian Beer Mustard (closest thing I had to brown mustard),I didn't double the Stevia, but used 1 cup. Everyone loved it, but still a bit sweet, I will use a scant cup the next time. This is going to be a summer favorite!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: CoffeeHeaven
I followed Mama Peppers' advice and made extra dressing, I doubled the batch because I intended to serve it the next day. At first I used only half the sugar for a double batch then realized it really needed it. The longer you cook the less tangy it becomes as the vinegar cooks off somewhat. Dressing was yummy. The veggies I used were frozen peas and carrots and one can of corn. I excluded the bell pepper, onion and celery. I used ziti pasta. Great recipe for a potluck style pasta, make it your own way! Thumbs up.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Apr 2019
Reviewed by: 5boys
Wow one of the pervious reviews was so right, this is a hidden gem! Thank you so much for sharing this! I made 2 large pans of it for our event tonite. My family love it and we don't normally have pasta salad. I used olive oil instead of the butter as one reviewer said. Adde black cracked pepper at the end.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: rbertolero
I LOVED this! I used canned mixed veggies, since I had them, and Apple Cider Vinegar. It's the sauce that makes this recipe different than many other pasta salads. Next time I'll add cubed cheese and black olives. Will make again for sure.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes