My Reviews (96)

Tomato Pizza Sauce

This is a great sauce for pizza or pasta. It's a very quick and versatile sauce that may be doubled or tripled.
Reviews (96)


30 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Jillian
Excellent pizza sauce! I would however only use this for pizza, not on pasta. I made this ultra quick and easy by doing an uncooked version. I took the tomato paste and blended it with 2/3 cup of warm water then added the wine. I used only 1 tsp. of sugar and then mixed in the rest of the ingredients leaving out the olive oil. I used minced garlic from the jar and added additional 1/4 tsp. of onion powder, 1/4 tsp. of salt, and 1/4 tsp. of marjoram. Absolutely perfect and I would love to try this as a dip for mozzarella sticks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: JonnyTexas
I've tried a couple pizza sauce recipes on this site and never really liked any of them, until I found this one! As others noted, it's a terrific base to start with and tinker to your tastes. I added 1/4 tsp of marjoram and 1/4 tsp Italian seasoning in addition to the called for spices. I also cut the sugar and grated Parmesan in half and omitted the wine. after simmering i turned the burner off and let it sit there on the warm stove covered while I baked cookies and prepared the whole wheat pizza crust so that the flavors would have time to blend even more. It turned out fantastic! I had friends over for dinner and they raved! Definitely a keeper in my recipe box. Thanks!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: Evelyn in KC
Yum! The only thing I might change next time is adding just a teensy bit less sugar. (My husband doesn't care for sweet sauces.) However, if you try this and think it's too sweet, a teaspoon or so of vinegar will help. Just for myself, I thought it was great. MUCH better than most jarred sauces. NOTE: I do recommend this for pizzas, but not as a pasta sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: SUZIFEROSU
The sauce was good as a pizza sauce, but does not stand alone. At all. If you're looking for pizza sauce, use this recipe, but if you're looking for pasta sauce, look somewhere else.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I upped the serving amount to six and I threw in more minced garlic and one minced sweet onion. I also used brown sugar instead of white. After taste testing it, I added additional oregano and basil. I used this in Pepperoni Pizza Bake. One of the best pizza sauces I've found on this site, with adjustments. The longer it simmers, the better it gets.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: Katzma2
The BEST pizza sauce! I can't figure out why there aren't more ratings yet for this recipe. I have tried many others looking for the perfect pizza sauce to go with the perfect pizza. Although my pizzas were really good, there was something missing. This recipe is the missing link. It is absolutely delicious on pizza and nothing is missing anymore. You must try it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Hayley
Great pizza sauce! As other reviewers stated, I did not add 2 teaspoons of sugar, more like 1/2 teaspoon of sugar. I didn't have any red wine on hand, but the sauce was delicious without it! The cheese thickens the sauce and really brings it together. This is definitely going to be my pizza sauce to go to now and I will never buy jarred pizza sauce again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Jeanne
Only giving 4 stars because I changed a few things. Wilth the changes, fabulous sauce! My changes; cut the sugar in half, and only add as much water as needed for desired thickness. I made this once with the wine and once without the wine.....definitely add the wine!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Bryan
This was perfect, I used half 1/4 a teaspoon of salt/pepper, and let it cook down slightly, and I must say absolutely the best pizza sauce ive ever had, thank you thank you thank you for this delicious recipe, will deff use often =]
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Lece
Pretty good but not perfect pizza sauce. I can't put my finger on what's missing so I'll keep looking for that perfect recipe. Definately would not work as a pasta sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes