My Reviews (54)

Pasta with Yoghurt-Garlic Sauce

A Middle Eastern approach to pasta, very quick to prepare and just as good cold as warm. To your health!
Reviews (54)


17 May 2008
Reviewed by: Purgirl
My husband and I looove this recipe. It's very easy to make, it's light yet satisfying. I have been making this recipe for almost a year now. I make mine slightly different: Cook pasta, drain the water and rinse. Melt a little bit of butter in a pan with minced garlic (this way the garlic won't have a raw taste to it) until butter starts making small bubbles. Mix plain yogurt (doesn't have to be warmed up) with pasta (making sure pasta isin't too hot or the yogurt will seperate). Add the butter to the pasta and toss. We love ours with a little bit of paprika and cayenne for a little kick. You can't go wrong with this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: EMMELINE24
A tasty, simple and quick dinner! I doubled the quantites for the sauce (not the pasta) because I prefer a creamier texture; two cups of yogurt for 16 oz of pasta left the dish too dry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Novice
This is a great great recipe! Very easy to make, easy shopping list, and extremely tasty. I prefer it cool, but I'm betting many would like it warm as well. It is filling, yet light, and goes with tons of other courses or beverages. I've eaten it for solo lunches and dinners at home, but it would make a great picnic dish for any size crowd. Thank you Alma! P.S. I was tempted to skip the parsley, but the fresh stuff really does finish off the taste and texture well. Not a fan of pine nuts, so I did skip those.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: nessturn
So I have been avoiding tomato sauce lately (acid reflux). I know I wanted something creamy (- the fat). I used this recipe. The only changes I made was to cut down on the butter, add an onion and a whole bunch of mushrooms (and a little white wine). I used fage non-fat yogurt. It was amazing. It almost tasted like blue cheese (which I LOVE). I will be using this recipe again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Mochi Puffs
This dish was fantastic. I used labneh in place of plain yogurt and the result was very creamy. I served the sauce with sprouted grain pasta and stirred some fresh spinach into the sauce just before serving. I also sprinkled sumac over the plated pasta. This is something we will make often. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: mbritain
I accidentally bought plain yogurt instead of vanilla and really did not like the taste, so I looked for a way to cook with it and found this recipe. I used some of the other reviews to guide me and ended up cutting the pasta in half (I'm cooking just for myself) and added an entire teaspoon of paprika. Next time I will probably reduce the amount of yogurt because it was just a bit too creamy for me and add sauteed onions. I also threw in some peas and chicken to make it a meal. I love cream sauces, but not the calories, so I'll definitely make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Razoun
Being Lebanese, I grew up with this dish, one of my favorties, especially during the summer. We do it with alittle twist though (which is typical for Beirut). Toss the hot pasta with the melted butter and coat well (be generous). Then add the mix of yogurt, garlic paste (which includes the salt) and crushed dry mint (per your taste). It has to be dry to add super flavour!! The yogurt is fine cold, it will warm up with the hot pasta... enjoy!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: OLD2LRN2COOK
Great, quick recipe. I sauted about 1 lb fresh asparagus and a couple of tomatoes and added fresh basil for a filling, healthy main dish. Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: tinadubs
We love this recipe just the way it is! Fresh herbs are always the best, but I had to substitute dried parsley for the fresh as i was out of fresh. Never the less, it was delicious!! Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Mary M.
I've made this a couple of times now, and even my very picky eaters like it. I use nonfat yogurt, and the sauce turns out quite thin, so I'd like to find a way to thicken it without substantially altering the dish. Pumpkin seeds make a poor substitute for the pine nuts, but if you don't have anything else, they'll do.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes