My Reviews (34)

Bacon Pasta

I love pasta recipes which are simple and made with strongly flavoured ingredients. Top with Parmesan cheese.
Reviews (34)


31 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: grizzly bobby
My Mother used to make a variation of this recipe that she called "Bohemian Spaghetti." This recipe uses garlic and other herbs, which I think give it a certain flair. However, these ingrediants don't seem to be 'to scale.' I suggest using a little leftover bacon grease to cook the onions in, and possibly an extra can of broken up stewed tomatoes (if you cook it the way its listed, it will be very dry.) Also, I heat the pasta after its mixed for a few minutes (while stirring) so that it absorbs all of the flavor. (The way I make it has it turn out a little greasy, but the flavor more than makes up for it.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Sonia
I was looking for a recipe with stuff I had at home as I didn't feel like going to the store. I entered pasta, tomato, cheese and bacon in ingredients and this recipe came up. I'm glad it did! It was really good. It true that it looks dry at first but it is perfect when you mix it with the pastas. After reading the reviews I did this: I put in 7 slices of bacon which I cut in 1 inch slices before cooking them. After removing the bacon, I cooked the onions and garlic in the bacon fat. Since I didn't have a can of tomatoes, I used 3 fresh tomatoes,removed the skin and diced them. I don't like parmesan cheese so I put in 1/2 cup of mozzarella which I mixed in with the pastas and sauce before serving. I used rotini pastas. I will make it the same way again and have a bowl of freshly grated parmesan cheese available for those who like it. This is now a favorite. Thanks Catherine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: naples34102
Yes! Pasta just as it should be! Lightly dressed, not buried in heavy, overly-spiced, thick, pasty sauce! (Gross) I loved this, with its few fresh, simple flavors and ingredients. Since I made only a few ounces of pasta for the two of us, I didn't open up a can of tomatoes. Rather, I used a few red ripe, Campari tomatoes, fresh parsley, and the herb seasonings to taste – and a little olive oil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: DaveP
very easy, just the right blend of spices. It looked a little dry while cooking. however, it turned out great. Not enough for four of my friends. Make More!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: SADBADDAD6
This is a great alternative to the regular spaghetti sauce. Make sure you use a good cut of bacon to get that great smokie flavor. I really enjoyed it and it was a great way to use some of the fresh herbs from my garden.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Katybella
Love this! My 3 year old loved it too. I added some more stewed tomatoes because it looked like it needed more. In the end it would have been fine with the original amount-but it still turned out great. I added some leftover hamburger too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: jlwfohs
My family really liked this. It was very tasty and I will definitely make it again. I used the already cooked bacon so it was a quick and easy meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Linda Green-Wood
This is easy and very good. I added capers and more garlic. We will diffenately have this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: BABIDOLL02
Very good...didn't use spaghetti though, use the pasta of your choice or what you have on hand.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: SAMMARTI
Excellent! And so simple. This tastes like something a high-end Italian restaurant would serve. Try it--you already have all the ingredients on hand!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes