My Reviews (367)

Penna Lasagne

I call this lasagne even though I use penne pasta. It's a delicious mix of three cheeses and beef, very easy to make.
Reviews (367)


26 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Stefanie Frank Stewart
Very good and much easier than messing with lasagna noodles. The whole family asked me to put this in the rotation. I used double the noodles and mozzarella cheese. I also used cottage cheese instead of ricotta. I also added a little more sauce. I layered pasta/cheese mix/sauce/pasta/cheese mix/sauce/pasta/sauce/mozz cheese.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: MQUINLA1
made this for a crowd and it was a hit! Trick is to prepare the night before and refrigerate so flavors blend. I also sprinkle each layer with garlic powder. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Stephanie
I love this recipe. It is one of my go-to meals during the week. It has the same great taste as lasagna but you don't have to mess with the difficult lasagna noodles. I up the meat and pasta to a pound each, add a little more sauce and mozzarella and cook it in a 13X9 pan. Delicious!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Sep 2007
This was a good recipe~ was looking for a "lasagna" recipe,but wanted to use penne pasta instead, since it is what I had on hand. These are the additions and changes that I made (only to suit our taste on experience/ not because of any possible flawsn seen in your recipe). I added 2 tablespoons of the zesty dry italian seasoning to the meat, as well as fresh sliced mushrooms, while it browned.... and then fresh sliced zucchini. I mixed some of the pasta sauce with the noodles (3/4 lb) of penne, laid it at bottom of baking pan. I then spread the ricotta mixture on top of that, put remaining meat sauce as next layer, and lastly the mozzarella with a few shakes of parmesean .
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Rebecca Laymance
Very easy and good I would recommend covering with foil before putting in oven so your noddles don't end up crunchy I also used 1 pound of ground beef I felt like it needed more sauce though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: MANOMES
Really good and easy. I added about 1/3 c. chopped onion and a clove of minced garlic with the ground beef for extra flavor. Also covered with foil before baking as others suggested to keep moisture in. Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: ManassasMa
Recipe needs a lot more flavor (oregano, parsley, basil, cayenne pepper flakes), unless, of course, those ingredients are included in the sauce you use. In addition, I usually add cook at least 1/2 lb. Sweet Italian Sausage (casings removed) along with my chopped beef. For easier "layering", I'd suggest using Rigatoni pasta in place of the Penne. Just a personal preference.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Amy D.
Delicious! This is a new family favorite!! I do not have a 2.5 qt (approx 11x7) baking dish, so I increased the amount of penne to 1 lb, and ground beef to 1 lb to make it fit into a 13x9 pan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: FONTAMA
With a little 'tweeking' this would rate 5 stars. I used 8 oz pasta. A full pound of hamburg and 1 and 1/2 jars of Paul Newmans Sockarooni. Also for the topping mixed the remaining mozzarella with another 1/4 cup parmesan. A real 'keeper' this way. It got rave reviews!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Kristina Bacon
Great & easy recipe. I used the advice of others & used 1 lb ground beef & added italian seasoning to the beef. Delicious~ will definately make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes