My Reviews (20)

Pasta and Bean Soup

A lovely traditional Italian soup called 'pasta e fagioli'. You can also use kidney beans. Garnish with Parmesan and serve with bread.
Reviews (20)


03 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: joyce
excellent. I did make some changes though. I added half the garlic to begin with and leave it in there. I added 2 small carrots shredded, 2 celery stalks chopped small, 2 cans chunky tomato sauce with italian seasoning and 2 cans white beans. I double the spices and add only 2 cups of water. I don't ever add the pasta directly to the soup. I add it to each bowl as I am ready to serve because pasta will continue to cook in the soup and you will have mush. If you have left overs, they freeze well - without the pasta.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: SMPARSONS
this is really watery, you'd have to puree some beans to get any thickness to it. The flavour is really like canned soup with garlic (and I love garlic).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: pete dixon
your recipe was on the money. I'm a retired chef of 40 years & did much italian cuisine This is similar to the way I use to make it except I used fresh herbs, cut back on the garlic & used real chiken stock. For those that complained about it being to watery. It's suppose to be soupy. Great for dunking in french or italian bread. Excellent recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: janet7th
I made this for Recipe Group and my kids and I really enjoyed it. I used to live in Utica, NY which has a very large Italian population so I enjoyed dishes like Pasta Fagioli from lunch take-outs. This recipe has more bacon than I remember, probably because those places were trying to cut back on food costs but more bacon is not a bad thing! Be sure to taste before adding salt. I like salty food but didn't need to add any. It was even better the second day when I heated it up for lunch. Thanks for a healthy and tasty recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Jessica
Made this for RECIPE GROUP, actually made it twice. The first time I followed the recipe and instructions to a "T", the second time around I made a few changes (for the better, IMO). My rating is based on the original, which is a good soup with a nice flavor. My second version I added 2 stalks diced celery, and 2 peeled, diced carrots to the onion/bacon stage. I even used a couple more cloves of garlic since the flavor mellows when cooked like this and we LOVE garlic, I mashed all of the cooked cloves with a fork and a little of the broth and mixed it all right back in. I also used whole wheat penne since we don't eat white pasta or rice in my house. I also used 8 cups chicken broth, in place of the 2qt. water and 2 boullion cubes. If served immediately this soup has a nice broth (especially with the can of tomato sauce), the leftovers however become a casserole, a delicious casserole nonetheless. A little water to thin it back to soup does the trick and the leftovers are delicious! Thanks for submitting!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Megan
My family really enjoyed this. Like some of the other reviewers, I added a second can of beans. I substituted chicken broth for the boullion and water to cut down on the salt but upped the herbs and peppers to keep the flavor. I also drained the beans before adding to make it less soupy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Deb C
I made this for Recipe Group - 12/31/2011. This soup was very disappointing. Please note that every time we’ve had Pasta Fagioli it has been at the North End, so perhaps we’re pasta fagioli snobs. You just can’t beat the Italian food at the North End. I decreased the water content which I would recommend to anyone trying this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Shearone
When sauteing the garlic, onion, and thick sliced bacon, I added 1 T. of brown sugar. Read some of the previous reviews and noted there were some comments about the recipe having too much liquid - since we prefer thicker soups versus thin, I only added 1 quart of water. Smells divine while cooking and so delicious tasting plus today our weather here in North Carolina is bitterly cold and this was just perfect. Thanks FML31 for sharing your recipe on AR.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Christina
Made this for Recipe Group and it is DELICIOUS! I did mince my garlic instead of using the whole cloves because I didn't want to have fish them out and chop them up later (yes, I'm lazy, lol), and I used 1 carton (4cups) of chicken broth and 4 cups water instead of the boullion cubes. Also, I used ditalini pasta instead of penne because that's the way we've always had any type of pasta fagioli, so it was just a personal preference that wouldn't affect the flavor at all. We really loved the flavor that the bacon gave to this, in fact, all the flavors blended beautifully. I will be using this recipe over and over again! Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Pam Ziegler Lutz
This is a little more work than other recipes, but so worth it! I used fresh herbs as I had them growing outside my kitchen. When the time came to fish out the garlic cloves, I couldn't find all of them. I smashed what I found and returned it to the pot. I never did find the others. This was delicious served with Beer Bread I from this site. I'll be making this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes