My Reviews (310)

Spaghetti with Garlic and Oil

A classic Italian pasta dish known as 'aglio e olio' for 'garlic and oil.' Use the best quality pasta and olive oil you can find.
Reviews (310)


18 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: naples34102
With the exception of the cayenne pepper, this is the traditional pasta with garlic and olive oil I grew up with in my Italian family. If anything, we add a bit of crushed red pepper flakes to taste, but it is just as traditional and tasty without. This is the Italian version of buttered noodles--and it's darn good. Also delicious with a sprinkle of grated fresh Parmesan or Romano cheese.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Kevin
Now THIS is the way to do Olio The only thing I changed is using whole cloves of garlic rather than chopped garlic - it is more "traditional" that way. As for cooking the garlic for 10-15 minutes - you are normally supposed to discard the (whole clove of) garlic after you have cooked it in the oil. The reason for doing this is that the oil becomes infused with the garlic flavour... However, since this version uses chopped garlic instead of whole cloves - I would cook it for 3-5 minutes instead.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 May 2000
Reviewed by: CAITY-O
Not a good kid recipe because of the spicy red pepper flakes (but omit them and the kids will eat this up). I've added quartered canned artichokes and black olives. Also try shaped pasta, adds a little excitement to the meal. Very delicious!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 May 2010
Reviewed by: Jillian
This is a great side dish, but frankly I could eat it as a main dish all by itself because it's just that good. I topped it with a bit of parmesan and it was perfect!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: palemoon21
AMAZING recipe!! My husband and I enjoyed this dish. It was easy to cook with the time crunch I was in and the spices gave it the "kick" I like in sauces. DON'T change a thing!! It's very good and if you use the right pasta, it's healthy as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: barrtopia
This was fantastic! I however added a lot more garlic than the recipe called for. I also added a handfull of whole garlic cloves. It took about 7 minutes longer to cook with the whole garlic cloves. Next time i make this i will also try to add some fresh steamed veggies to the mix!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Nancy F
I loved it! I added extra garlic and sprinkled grated parmesan cheese on top. Yum! I served it with broccoli, which was very good with it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: MamaAlly
This recipe is soooooo yummy. Its especially great for a light lunch. Its so quick and easy it has quickly become one of my favorites.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: Navy_Mommy
I really liked this dish. I will make it a lot when it is just me for dinner since it is so easy to adjust for just one person. My husband didn't care for it, but he can't stand not having meat for dinner. The taste is really very mild and subtle.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Mary K. Lyskawa
Simple and delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes