My Reviews (302)

Pasta and Kidney Bean Soup

A magnificent pasta and bean soup from Italy. Garnish with Parmesan cheese if desired and serve with garlic bread.
Reviews (302)


05 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: TTV78
This soup rates up there with those we've had at fancy Italian restaurants. Followed the directions exactly and the only thing I modified from the ingredient list was elbow macaroni instead of ditalini pasta (what I had on hand). Half the recipe made more than plenty for the 2 of us for several meals. Leftovers are even BETTER the next day! Absolutely loved this delicious soup! It will definitely be one of my "go-to" meals. Thank you for this keeper of a recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: richardcook2
I thought Olive Garden was the best. You are not going to get a better recipe than this. 1-10 scoring this is a 25 Don't try to be Emerill and tweak this recipe. Cook as stated.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Scotdog
Very good. I didn't notice until too late that it takes 3 hours. I didn't have time to simmer broth for 1 hour. It was still good. I thought 2 jars of garlic would be too much so I used less. I only used 2 cans of reduced sodium beef broth & the rest water with beef bouillon cubes. I make the pasta separately & pour over. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Susan Michael Maloney
I lost my favorite Pasta e Fagioli recipe and found this to be closest to what I remember mine to be. My only variations are to use fresh garlic and to use Great Northern beans instead of the kidney beans. I also add the pasta at the end so it doesn't absorb too much liquid. This also freezes well as long as you keep the pasta separate; otherwise it gets mushy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Nicole & Ray
Super fabulous Italian soup recipe! We LOVED it! Wouldn't change a thing! I cooked ground turkey over the stove with diced onions, celery, garlic, and pepper. I added above mixture to the crock pot with beef broth, crushed tomatoes, paste, and herbs for about 5 hours on high. I then added beans the last 15 minutes, while the elbow pasta cooked. Added pasta to bowls then pored soup on top with grated parm cheese. Served with home made french bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: ICE_PRINCESS
A+! I rarely make a recipe from this site without changing a little something - however this one is perfect as is.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2008
Reviewed by: 39jean
I wouldn't change a thing. Everyone loves it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: marlie
Made this last evening. 'Twas a gastronomic delight! I scaled it down for eight servings and followed the recipe as is written. I had to make two changes. I only had about a third of a jar left of the minced garlic, so added 4 cloves of fresh (minced/chopped by me). Forgot to get the ditalini pasta at the store, so used elbow mac. Per other reviewers advice, I also cooked the mac seperately and added to bowls upon serving. I served fresh French bread and parm on the side. Husband had two helpings and finally commented, "this is scrumptious" (not a word he uses often). I told him I was going to use his praise in my review and he said that was fine because he means it! It has a rich, deep flavor to it that I haven't found in other pasta e fagiolis I've eaten. So, at the end of the meal we decided that this is a "keeper". Thank you for submitting it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: sonie k.
Its a little bit thick not like i've eaten on this famous restaurant chain..
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: Cookie Queen
Love this recipe!! This has been my go to recipe whenever I get the craving for Pasta Fagioli. Even my non-italian hubby thinks this is wonderful. No need to try any other recipes this hits it head on!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes