My Reviews (302)

Pasta and Kidney Bean Soup

A magnificent pasta and bean soup from Italy. Garnish with Parmesan cheese if desired and serve with garlic bread.
Reviews (302)


08 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: naples34102
Bravo Ivan! Words are inadequate to describe how much hubby and I enjoyed your pasta e fagioli tonight! I took just a little liberty with the recipe, using fresh minced garlic, tomato sauce from my garden, a "glug" of a good red wine, and fresh parsley. I used the amount of herbs as the recipe directed, even though I thought it might be too much, but it all came together perfectly. Topped this with a little shredded mozarella and served it with garlic bread. This Italian gal cleaned her bowl! As for hubby? The first words out of his mouth (filled with pasta e fagioli) were, "Make this again!"
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: JOHND
I have had this recipe many times. Made the first time I had it, and quite a few times after that by Chez Ivano (Ivan O.Teeter) himself. Ivan was my father-in-law. Unfortunately Ivan passed away just over two years ago. He had many recipe's. This one was among his favorites. Most people who have had it agree it is an excellent Italian soup. We have served Pasta e Fagioli a la Chez Ivano (he really liked that name) numerous times to guests, and they always ask for the recipe before they leave. People will try variations to satisfy there own tastes but the basis of this recipe remains Ivan's. Perhaps one day I will get his recipe book out and share more with you. There is a recipe for S.O.S. that I'm sure most who have been in the military would appreciate.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: CANUCKATLARGE
YUMMY! This is a wonderfully flavourful soup that fills your house with the scent of a fine Italian restaurant! I have cooked this both the regular way and by slow cooker, and have had great success for both. For slow-cooker fans: scramble-fry ground beef, then add all ingredients to crock-pot except for kidney beans and pasta. Cook for 4-6 hours on high (or 8-10 on low, your preference). Add the kidney beans and pasta during the last 15 minutes of cooking. If you intend to keep/freeze leftovers, cook the pasta separately and add it to each soup bowl... this will prevent liquid absorption and smushy pasta. I found that macaroni also works well if you can't find ditalini in your grocery store. I reduced the amount of garlic to 5-6 large cloves, minced (for a 10-serving recipe), and we did not lack for garlic flavour! Thanks so much for a first-class recipe, Ivan!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: Abbi
This is an excellent recipe. I did somethings differently just to add my own personal touch. Cook the pasta separately because it gets mushy the longer it sits in the pot. Abbi
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: GLORY7
I made this soup in honour of the Opening Ceremony for the 2006 Olympics in Torino...and i have to tell you, this recipe is absolutely amazing! The only change i made was to add about 1/2 can of navy beans - like Olive Garden's. I halfed the recipe to 10 servings and it turned out perfectly. I would suggest making the Pesto Bread Rounds recipe off of allrecipes to go with the soup...YUM!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: MOTTSY
I cut the recipe in half for 10 servings, but next time will do it for 20 servings. It is delicious! I'll be making this Pasta e Fagioli recipe from now on. I served it with a salad and crusty Italian bread. A big hit with my husband who said it was definitely a "Keeper".
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Laura Sewall Bossart
Okay, I've never had this before, I loved it! I did add fresh mushrooms and zucchini, , and after saute'ing the veggies and ground beef, put it in a crock pot on low for a couple hours, till we got home, and OMG, will be making this all the time. I did keep the pasta separate.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: LISAZ111
Made this recipe and thought it tasted good but a little too much celery for me on the first day. Then we had some the next day and the celery taste disappeared and it was even more delicious! The third day heated up it was The Bomb!!!!!It got better and better each day!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: HISANDTHEIRS
I was watching the news the other day and a story came on about a couple who had been married for 82 years. The 105 year old husband said one of the things he appreciated about her was that she prepared dinners for him — including his beloved pasta e fagioli. LOL I thought if pasta e fagioli could keep a couple together for 82 years I'd better try it too! This recipe was good. Better the next day for sure, but I think I'd use regular beef broth next time as the flavor was quite a bit too strong for our tastes. The main idea was good tho. I halved the recipe, add julliened carrot (1 cup for the half recipe), fresh garlic (4 large cloves for the half recipe) and fresh parsley (didn't have dried). The rest I followed exactly. PS Serve with garlic or cheese bread and an italian salad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: goldie725
Excellent soup! I have made versions of this soup before but this is the best - very hearty..I served with bread. Since there are only 2 of us I halfed the entire recipe which still allowed for several bowls for each of us and a container for my parents! Only tweak I made was using fresh garlic (6 cloves minced) instead of jarred. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes