My Reviews (117)

Couscous and Capsicum Salad

If you are as bored as I am with pasta and potato salads at barbecues, try this couscous delight! Can be made the night before, but add dressing just before serving.
Reviews (117)


07 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Heidi McDonald
This one absolutely ROCKS, I take it everywhere, have passed the recipe out at least 5 times by request. It's also great if you have a vegetarian living with you...make one batch of this and it's lunch for a week. My mom commented that it's just like one of the salads sold at Whole Foods, only this doesn't cost $8/lb. I use Roma tomatoes rather than cherry tomatoes because they maintain their shape a bit better...and a word on couscous...make sure you check the outside of the box about how much one box makes. If you use Far East brand, you have to use 2 boxes instead of one. Two chopped red bell peppers seem to go over better than mixed ones. I also put in a larger container of feta. If your grocery store doesn't have greek salad dressing in a bottle, mix together 1/3c each of olive oil and balsamic vinegar and that works, too. When not making this for a party, I serve this as the side dish sometimes with "Cousin Cosmo's Greek Chicken," also on this site. We call it Greek Night, and my 3 kids LOVE Greek Night!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: LADYJAYPEE
I scaled this down to 7 servings (of which 2 people ate nearly all!). *blush* I didn't have any boxed couscous mixes on hand, but did have plain whole wheat couscous; so I sauteed it in butter, then simmered it in chicken broth, a splash of chardonnay, along with Italian seasoning, garlic & onion powders & some salt. Used grape tomatoes & Girard's Greek Feta Vinaigrette (yum!) and this was a hit! DH asked me to make it again. Thanks, Gourmet631!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Marie C.
Very good salad with beautiful visual presentation. I also used Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing as others recommended with very good results. I used garlic-herb feta and tossed in extra veggies. The great thing about this recipe is it can be customized so easily. Add left over chicken and you have a meal. Thanks Gourmet631.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: TRACIOK
This was a hit at my recent "Greek" dinner party. The few things I changed: 1 green pepper and less cucumber (< 1/2), dried parsley. I didn't measure the salad dressing, just drizzled and stirred until right texture. This salad is wonderful! I made a few couscous converts too! Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I cut this back using ONE box of couscous mix. Because I could not find garlic and herb couscous mix, I added in some homemade greek seasoning and fresh minced garlic. I cut everything else back except the cucumbers and tomatoes. This is divine! I can't stop eating it. This is one of the best things I've eaten in a long time. This recipe's a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: happychef
I made this receipe with whole wheat couscous--Trader Joe's--and it was wonderful!! Healthy, more fiber than a pasta salad or even a rice salad. Great with the feta. Have made this with my own and with Paul Newman's Greek Dressing--both work well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: CHRISTIGPA
Great for picnics or large gatherings. Made (for 50) the night before, left in fridge overnight and added salad dressing before serving. Brought this to my boyfriend's church picnic and two ppl asked for the recipe. Only changes would be to use English cukes (no seeds) and add more cherry tomatoes. I thought the feta was a little low but the bf loved the balance of grain, veggie and cheese. Will certainly make again. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: 2many2count
I tried this out before making for our upcoming block party. I thought it was good, but nobody in my family cared for it - and most of them love couscous! Maybe it was the flavoring in the couscous...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: STACEYINEUROPE
sooo good! however, added a zucchini & removed the seeds from the cucumber! used the 'absol. fab. greek/house dressing' on the site.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: superyoungcook
well done! this recipe is fab i am going to make it for my mum and dad! i giv it 5 stars the best!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes