My Reviews (53)

Bacon and Olive Omelette

Baking omelettes in the oven is so much easier than mastering the fried variety. You can add what you like, this combination is a good balance for me.
Reviews (53)


27 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: monica63
Was really lovely. Made it for sunday brunch. Was a hit with everybody. I love the idea of preparing earlier,then just putting it in the oven. I also took the foil off for the last 10 min. of baking. Thank you for sharing.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Robbin said:
Used different ingredients. Made this for Sunday brunch for my boyfriend and I. It was VERY GOOD! I added some pepper jack cheese and a some chopped green capsicum. Also, I baked uncovered for about 10 minutes at the end. Light and fluffy but full of good veggies. Went good with our waffles!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Frezzy said:
Used different ingredients. My husband and I bbqd some prawn kebabs and we substituted some of the left overs. Our ingredients included prawn, capsicums, onions, mushrooms, black olives tomatoes, colby & montery jack cheese and some hot pepper flakes. Preparation was a lot of fun and the outcome was scrumptious!!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
R.Green said:
Used different ingredients. I love this recipe, it's easy and good. Everyone seemed to like it. I made two with just bacon and cheese for the kids (they're picky) and one with everything. The only thing I changed on the one I made for the adults was I added green capsicums and brown onions instead of the spring onions. I also did 1 1/2 times the recipe so I could use a 22 x 33 pan. I cooked each at 200 degrees for 24-25 minutes.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
BreeAnn said:
Used different ingredients. I made this with extra-sharp Cheddar cheese, and usedbrown onions instead of green. Thirty minutes in the oven was enough. This was so quick and easy. Thanks, Kate!
 
Comment:
26 Jul 2009
iamamonkey said:
Used different ingredients. I removed the mushrooms
 
05 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: tazmilly1
Yummy & easy!!!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: AKLENOX
This is so good!! The taste was excellent and the presentation is beautiful. I made this for a church brunch, and it was a total success!! Thanks for sharing.
 
04 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: naples34102
Hubs liked this better than I did, but then he was unaware of what I perceived as its flaws. I thought it was good, but I think it could be better. First, don't beat the eggs with an electric mixer. A lot of air is beaten into them that way and the resulting air bubbles will be evident in your omelet. I just use a wire whisk and whisk them until thoroughly combined. Second, I'm not sure I like the addition of the tomatoes and I would saute the mushrooms first. Both release so much of their juices that it sort of pooled in the center of the omelet, more or less forcing me to bake the eggs longer than I would have liked to just so the juices would be absorbed. And I even seeded the tomatoes first! I can't imagine how much longer I might have had to bake this if I hadn't. And I would definitely recommend sauteeing the mushrooms before adding, along with any other vegetables you might choose to add like chopped peppers, onions, or zucchini. Finally, I didn't cover this. By doing so you prevent the omelet from turning a nice golden brown. Given my criticisms I would rate this only average, three stars, but since Hubs gave this a solid four (not knowing, of course, its challenges), I'll leave it at that.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: CHRISWELLSW
We omitted the olives and bacon, cooked uncovered 25 minutes (instead of covered for 40), shredded the cheese right over, melted it back in the oven, and it was perfect. Light and fluffy. Very tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes