My Reviews (20)

Crusted Lemon Chicken

Simple, flavourful chicken breasts with a parmesan cheese crust. The perfect thing for a weeknight, and kid-friendly too!
Reviews (20)


28 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Wiley
I wish I could say that my chicken was fabulous like the other reviewer (Chad), but it wasn't. In the other review, it was stated that cooking spray was used instead of oil and the butter was reduced. I did the same thing, and I had almost NO flavor. That was obviously not the recipe submitter's fault, and so my rating is not based on that. The part of the problem, for me, that caused the three star rating is that I think the breading process is missing the flour step. I did the best I could to get the chicken coated, but the egg didn't want to cling to the chicken, and therefore, the breadcrumbs didn't cling either. As a result, I only used about half the breadcrumbs. Since that's where the spices were, only half the spices actually got used, which is probably another reason why my chicken was bland. I also had parts where the egg did stick, but the breadcrumbs fell off, leaving cooked egg on the outside of the chicken. So, I wound up with a thin, somewhat patchy crust and not much in the way of flavor. The recipe submitter says you can tailor the spices to suit your individual tastes, and I guess that's really what should be done here. Also, if I do try this one again, I'll definitely coat the chicken with flour before it goes into the egg.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Fishchef
Though it is easy to make there are flaws in the breading makeing the chicken bland. After making several changes I was able to spruce it up. I would recommend dipping in lemon juice fallowed buy flower then egg before the breading. As a result the breading and spices stick better and the lemon juice makes a much needed flavor improvement as well using powered parm instead of shredded.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Chad Can Cook
Juicy and very very good. I used a lemon rosemary breadcrumb mix because that's what I had, and upped it a bit. I also used 2 tsp of lemon juice that I mixed with the egg. To make it healthier, I used Pam instead of oil and I used less butter, about 2 tsp. I used chicken tenderloins, so it needed about 5-10 more minutes of cooking time, but the result was fabulous!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: christiney4
i made a few modifications that made this dish come out very well! first, i marinated the b/s chicken breasts in freshly squeezed lemon juice for a few hours in the fridge. i used plain breadcrumbs, but simply added in italian seasoning. i also dipped the chicken breasts in flour first, then egg, then the breadcrumb mix. then i quickly pan fried them in some vegetable oil first for a few minutes and then finished them off in the oven, without the butter. it was really flavorful and moist and juicy!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: fugginmark
Great recipe! The only thing I did diferent was use mayonnaise instead of egg
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Cindy Capps Lepp
Really quick and so tasty! I used fresh grated parmesan anf panko bread crumbs(our fav)...just added some Italian herb blend. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Linda Grein
This was a very good recipe to taste and I thank you for it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: sberrystephcake
parmesan goes great on so many things! I squeezed lemon on before coating with breadcrumbs etc.... turned out pretty good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Jog Dish
Yum, this is a wonderful recipe. I used lemon pepper seasoning (without salt in it) and also added some red pepper flakes. Did as others suggested and dipped the chicken in flour then egg then breading and got a nice thick crispy crust on the chicken. Thanks so much for the quick, easy and delicious recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: rmdrex
I thought this recipe was wonderful. I actually did not have lemon herb seasoning in my pantry, so I ended up adding lemon zest to the breading mixture, and it turned out just great. My husband gave it two thumbs up.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes