My Reviews (25)

Papaya and Basil Spread

This is a delightful dip or spread which is served on slices of French bread like bruschetta. It combines papaya and tomato with tangy herbs and spices.
Reviews (25)


04 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: NUKA1
Fantastic recipe and taste even better the next day. I skipped the papaya seeds all together, and reduced the oil to 2 TBS of olive oil. Served half as a cold salsa with tortilla chips and the other half lightly toasted on baguette slices. Great warm or cold. Thanks for the great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Vanessa
Catered a mixer with this recipe. They had a very small budget ad I was looking for a recipe which was low on cost but still impressive. Bruschetta usually fits the bill for those requirements but I wanted to do something a little different than the norm. This worked perfectly, guests loved it, great for summertime serving. I doubled the recipe but only used 5 tomatoes. I think if you used the full amount the flavor of the papaya would have been overwhelmed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: BETSYKENN
I give this recipe more than 5 stars! I jsut made it for a party and what a hit! Evertone raved about it. Even my 12 year old son loved it. I highly reccomend this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Betsy G.
This recipe is delicious as a salad also. I simple cut the papaya, tomatoes and red pepper into larger pieces and omit the baguette. One note - it is not always easy to find a ripe papaya, which is very important to the success of this recipe. Thank you LJolley.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: JENGA2
I've made this several times now - love it more and more each time. I think it's best made the night before - it thickens up some over night. Just give it a stir!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Mereke
I, like other reviewers, did not incorporate the papaya seeds in my blender. I thought that this was a good bruschetta recipe, though not particularly different from a flavor perspective (the taste of the papaya gets lost with all the other flavors and its texture is really similar to the tomato.) You definitely need to be careful to strain it a bit before you layer it on toasted bread or it's a bit too soupy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: Katie
I made this for a party I attended and some people really liked it. I served it with french baguett slices. I would not suggest including the papaya seeds. They broke my blender and did not add any flavor to the recipe. It would be just as good without the seeds and I'd still have a blender!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: JENSTAR
This recipe was great. The first batch was eaten all up by the second day. I was even asked to make it again when it was almost finished. I did and that batch was all eaten in half a day. I made some changes to the recipe though. Instead of a red onion, I added onion powder and to the dressing, I added a cupple of dashes of pepper instead if papaya seeds. It is safe to say, I will definately be making this recipe quite often.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: IMVINTAGE
I used a 1/4 of a very, very lg papaya, half a ? tomato, & half a yellow bell peppr....making sure that my ratio of papaya was the greatest. My blender didn't have any problems handling the seeds although Katie's post almost scared me out of adding them. ;o) I enjoyed them in the dressing & will add them again. I sliced french bread, sprayed it w/ olive oil Pam & broiled it til it wsa golden. Topped it w/ the papaya mixture (undrained & didn't feel the need to do so but I only added the dressing until it looked right...I still had a little left that I didn't use) & served it w/ a Lychee martini...we both loved it & will have again. Don't skimp on the basil!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Sonya Fedoruk
Surprisingly good! It really seemed like a weird combination of ingredients- especially the papaya seeds! Bleh! But somehow when it all comes together it's delicious. On a side note, the recipe makes tons so you may want to half it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes