My Reviews (31)

Eye Fillets with Sweet Mushroom Sauce

This recipe might seem a little strange but you have to try it! Steak fillets with a sauce involving mushrooms, jam and ice cream! Fruity and tender.
Reviews (31)


25 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Mjjk (aka Sammy)
It wasn't around long enough to take a picture 'cause it was SO GOOD! I was so tempted to use a splash of red wine to deglaze because I only had powdered bullion, but the flavours were FANtastic anyway! It tastes like something you would order in a fancy restaurant. My steak was absolutely perfect (rare) but I had to cut my husband's steak (must be well-done) into thick strips to finish it because the mushrooms were threatening to burn. Then, with both steaks in the pan (mine to reheat, his to finish) I started the finishing steps for the amazing sauce by swirling around the pan so the juices would get around and under the steak and mushrooms. The plating was gorgeous! We had been 'Christmas snacking' all day, so all I needed was the garlic mashed potatoes (no pepper--just marg and cream)to add to the plate. My husband LOVED it! I used black currant jam and Real mushrooms, too. Excellent!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: JJnicespice
Altered this recipe to our taste as follows: Used fresh mushrooms instead of canned, used currant jelly instead of strawberry and substituted a fruity white wine for vanilla ice cream. Pan searing the filet made it extra juicy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: catrinamarie78
YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY!! Okay everyone this is it, this recipe is delicious!! I made it for my hudband and two kids and it was a winner all around! The only thing I did was put less mushrooms into it, cause we are not huge fans!! If you are having a formal dinner this would work. It looks beautiful after you frizzle the sauce onto the steaks. And when they take a bite mmmm what a suprise.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Krista
At first when I read this recipe I was a bit leary of the jelly and ice cream. When I made it for my hubby he LOVED it and he is very particular about his filet! I've made it since for my Dad and my brother and they both loved it as well!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: Ioreth
Five stars for creativity and taste. I used thin-cut petite sirloin steak and it turned out great. The mushrooms really make the sauce and the jam and icecream add sweetness, but not too much. Definitely worth a try. I may have let the sauce simmer too long, but it was just enough for my husband and I, and I made the full amount. You may need more for 4 servings.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: fingers77
Saving the liquid from mushrooms is fine if you are using dried mushrooms but canned is salt water! Using dried mushrooms add a cup of hot water to 3 oz of dried mushrooms and let stand for a hour. Then remove the mushrooms strain the liquid through cheese cloth and continue with the recipe or deglaze the pan with red wine instead of the canned water.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: TMAC
Absolutely delicious. Serve this to impress!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: BRANDYCROCKER
This is awesome! I didn't use mushrooms, instead I used extra lemon in the sauce!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: SUSI LW
I had to alter the recipe a bit due to dairy allergies, used vanilla soy milk in place of vanilla ice cream. Loved the flavor of the mushrooms, but the sauce was a weird color, too sweet and lacked depth. It was not bad, but not even close to restaurant quality and I definitely would not serve to guests. I might take the mushroom part of recipe and use a port or dessert wine glaze instead of the jelly and ice cream, but will not make again as it is written.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: coolmonkshoes
Used some red wine and olive oil during the simmer instead of the butter. Had some American Idol strawberry swirl ice cream in the freezer - this concoction was pretty darn good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes