My Reviews (587)

Simple Salmon Burgers

Tinned salmon makes an excellent fishburger. You can cook these salmon patties on the barbecue if you prefer.
Reviews (587)


24 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Courtney
Best salmon patties we've ever had! I followed previous reviewers advice and added a large clove of (chopped) garlic to the onions. The mixture was more than wet enough and I didnt need any of the reserved juice. I used 1/2 cup of crushed crackers in the mix, I found that only 1/3 of 2/3 cup, as the recipe indicated, was not enough. Refrigerating the patties before cooking really helped hold them together. Other changes: dijon mustard for the dry, dried parsley for fresh. I added about 1/4 tsp dried dill also. For the salmon I used pink boneless/skinless canned salmon. I served these with the Lemon Sauce for Salmon Patties posted on this site. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Lisa K
With the help of some other reviews, I used this recipe to make a meal that could easily be served in a fine restaurant. The end result was fantastic. I began by sauteing some baby bella mushrooms in butter and balsamic vinegar. When it came to the actual patties I, like many others, did not use the 3/4 cup liquid from the salmon. In fact, I didn't use canned salmon at all. I had grilled some salmon in butter and onions two nights before and had some left over. I just picked this apart and used as much as the recipe looked like it could use. I also added a little more than 1/3 cup of the crackers. (I used buttery Ritz crackers and they worked great.) I also chose to add some dill and lemon pepperto the pattie mixture and instead of the butter or shortening, I substituted olive oil. (I saved the butter for the mushrooms and the sauce.) Finally, I made the lemon sauce for salmon patties from this sight like so many others suggested. This sauce made the meal. I will admit that the patties probably would have been a bit dry without it. I put down a bed of the mushrooms, set a pattie on top and then topped the pattie with a generous tablespoon of the sauce. I finished the presentation with a swirl of the sauce around the pattie on the plate to make it look like it belonged on a menu in some upscale restaurant. It looked amazing and had a taste to match. I will make this over and over again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: shelly8mom
The whole family loved these and ate them all up!! I doubled the recipe and made about 15-17 of these. I will *definitely* try and find BONELESS canned salmon next time. That was a bit tedious trying to remove all the stubborn bones...and just a tad gross. I used other reviewers recommendations and used LEMON JUICE instead of the canned juice--added OLD BAY seasoning [but will add more next time]--added some cayenne pepper--and fried in OLIVE OIL & BUTTER. I also refrigerated these for an hour or two before I fried them so they'd be easier to handle and stay together.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: jessitlv
I used dried parsley flakes. Added dill, garlic powder and pepper. Left out the dried mustard. Cooked the onions in salted butter. I used just a splash of salmon juice even though I doubled the recipe and 2 1/2 cups of ritz cracker crumbs. They were a little soft to handle but they fried up perfect. Very delicous. UPDATE: I made these again and this time I didn't feel like making a mess with coating the patties in the crackers so I just mixed all the crackers right in with the salmon. It was just as good and a lot easier.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Shoshana
I make a version of this but instead of crackers we use Frenches Fried Onions in a can and crush about 1 cup. Add to mixture with Old Bay Seasoning, 1/2 t dill weed, 1/2 t celery salt adn this holds the patties firm. For a topping we make a sauce of Miracle whip, pickle relish and 1 t lemon juice with 1/2 t dill weed mix and top with chees on a toasted bun. Hubby can't stop eating them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: Flo
Needed something quick for Fri evening supper and had a can of salmon. These were excellent. Only change I made was to drain the salmon completely for a drier patty. With the 2 eggs, they stayed together fine. Also added a teaspoon of Old Bay seasoning for a little zip. And, served them with creamed peas. Thanks Jonnylen. Will make these again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 May 2006
Reviewed by: DC Girly Girl
Woo hoo! It was a little bland at first but thankfully I tasted the mix first. I added cumin, cayenne and oregano. I did not coat the cakes with the extra breadcrumbs nor did I add the reserved liquid. I also baked them at 375 for 8 minutes on each side instead of frying. Ate them with a spicy french mayonnaise. Tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Bassi Gruen
Easy and tasty. Following reviewers advice I omitted the liquid from the can and added 2 T. lemon juice, but the patties were a bit dry. Next time I'd add a T. or two of can liquid. I also added Old Bay Seasoning and dill, both of which gave the patties great flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2003
Reviewed by: ICYBLUEROSE
This is a great salmon recipe--nothing needed changed, and I used all the reserve liquid and it didn't make the patty too moist. My fresh parsley went bad before I could use it, so I just used dried parsley flakes instead and it still turned out great! I will be making these again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: PULLEYHEATHER
These were quite delicious, although I was very skeptical after opening the can of salmon! I've never used canned salmon before. I took the advice of others and did not use the extra liquid - definately didn't need it. I also added a clove of garlic and 1/4 tsp of celery salt. We'll definately make these again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes