My Reviews (147)

Spring Roll Hoisin Dipping Sauce

A great Asian style dipping sauce for spring rolls and dumplings. Based on soy, sesame oil, garlic, ginger and hoisin sauce.
Reviews (147)


Comment:
08 Oct 2008
MAGGIEKBS said:
Used different ingredients. I loved this recipe. I did lighten it up with about a tablespoon more water and a dash of rice wine vinegar, I also added a teaspoon of toasted sesame seeds, and a very tiny amount of dried chilli flakes, I think this would be great a little more spicy and served with Lettuce Wraps. Thanks for a great recipe.
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
LDSGIRL said:
Used different ingredients. I made this recipe as a dipping sauce for canape meatballs. I didn't have any hoisin sauce, so used extra soy sauce. I also used a few dashes of ground ginger and substituted soft brown sugar for the caster sugar. I doubled the recipe and it was enough for the meatballs and dumplings I had the next night! Even with all my substitutions, this recipe was a hit! Thanks!
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
EVELYNNE said:
Used different ingredients. I had been searching for a good dipping sauce for a long time and I have finally found it! This one is the closest to the Chinese restaurant flavour I have found. I added dried chilli flakes for some spice and cut down on the hoisin sauce. We serve it with steamed dumplings. Thanks!
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Michelle
Excellent sauce to serve with dim sum.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: AUNT MAMIE
Excellent sauce! Really tasty!
 
01 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Ali
I made this recipe as a dipping sauce for appetizer meatballs. I didn't have any hoisin sauce, so used extra soy sauce. I also used a few dashes of ground ginger and substituted brown sugar for the white sugar. I doubled the recipe and it was enough for the meatballs and potstickers I had the next night! Even with all my substitutions, this recipe was a hit! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 May 2010
Reviewed by: Jillian
Wow! This tastes exactly like the dipping sauce that comes with the dumplings from my local Chinese take out place. The stuff is awesome. I used rice wine vinegar in place of the water. I will defintely be making this again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: GLORYTOFAITH
I loved this recipe, I served it with the Won Ton Snacks recipe I found here too, I did lighten it up with about a tablespoon more water and a dash of rice wine vinegar, I also added a teaspoon of toasted sesame seeds, and a very tiny amount of red pepper flakes, I think this would be great a little more spicy and served with Lettuce Wraps. Thanks for a great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: MISSKDICE
Excellent sauce to serve with Asian appetizers. When I served it with pot stickers at a party, everyone commented on the sauce more than the appetizer.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
Wow Jackie, what a fantastic dipping sauce! I added about five tablespoons of hoisin sauce because I love the stuff and I skipped the sugar as there's enough in the hoisin. Served this with homemade egg rolls for our Christmas Tree chopping party yesterday. This is the best and I thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes