My Reviews (40)

Baked Whitefish with Sherry and Herb Sauce

People reckon seafood is hard to cook - it isn't. Here's a great way to prepare whitefish in a sherry sauce with tomatoes and herbs.
Reviews (40)


23 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: TEDER
Sometimes Orange Roughy has a very fishy taste, but the tomatoes, spice and sherry add a unique flavor that compliments this meaty fish. I used stewed tomatoes rather than fresh tomatoes and the results were excellent!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: hokiebetty
The recipe was AWESOME! I added capers to the sauce, and it was wonderful. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: FBA
I substituted flounder because my market didn't have fresh orange roughy. While the fish was moist after baking 40 minutes, there was an overpowering flavor that we didn't care for. I'm guessing that it was the amount of thyme. If you wanted to experiment with the seasonings, this recipe could have possibilities.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: KOALAGIRL
Such an easy-to-prepare meal that tastes fancy. We loved the sherry and herb sauce. It was subtle yet flavorful. I baked at 350 degrees for 30 minutes and it was perfect. The sauce would be great over chicken or pork, too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: POBOY
Easy to make. Very tasty. Used thin slices of tomatoes and sweet sherry. Took a full 40 min. to bake. Will surely make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Blue Jay Girls
Substituted chicken, cooked for 40 min at 325. Also added sauteed mushrooms in another layer. Truly tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: LURIVERA
This is a wonderful recipe! We've tried it with tilapia and it also worked out well. The only changes we made were that we added some minced garlic with the melting butter and increased the salt a bit. And at times when we haven't had fresh tomatoes, we've drained a can of diced tomatoes and used those instead. Otherwise, we pretty much followed the recipe. Thanks, Doreen!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Chef Bufo
This was a winner! The sauce was awesome. I added capers as some of the reviews suggested. I will try it with chicken and pork also.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: New2Cooking
Wonderful dish, that's very easy with simple ingredients! Had almost everything on hand except I used dried chives instead of fresh. YUM YUM!! Will make this again and again! If you like a fancy delicate fish recipes this is the one you're looking for!!! Thanks DOREEN!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 May 2009
Reviewed by: KissMorticia
Excellent and tasty! I doubled the herbs and sherry in the recipe for the extra level of flavour. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes