My Reviews (40)

Chocolate Orange Buttermilk Muffins

Chocolate, orange and tangy buttermilk perfectly balance in these delicious muffins. Great for breakfast or a snack.
Reviews (40)


18 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: ashley
it's yummy! i substituted the chocolate with chocolate chips. i couldn't find buttermilk so plain yogurt was the next best alternative. however, i couldn't taste the orange, i could smell the orange from the oven but it was lost in my mouth. therefore, i plan to add orange extract the next time. awesome muffins. i baked it for valentines and my frens loved it. thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: SADAIR
Tops! A light subtle flavor with touches of chocolate suspended throughout the cake. Very subtle and sophistocated. I used butter instead of margarine and cooked miniature muffins. Each morsel is a gourmet's delight. The combination of chocolate/orange makes it a little tricky to identify the flavor. Enhances its gourmet mystery.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: SINFONY_STAR
instead of using grated chocolate, i used the cocoa powder conversion of three squares. also, i used the one bowl method where i dumped everything in and mixed it up real good. they still came out great! with very little effort i got muffins that were very chocolatey with just the right amount of orange flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 May 2006
Reviewed by: DELTAQUEEN50
We liked these muffins very much. I have a food processor, so the grating of chocolate was a snap, but I could see it would be time consuming if grating by hand! I thought the orange and chocolate flavors blended well, and for those who would want more orange flavor I would suggest adding a bit more of the orange zest, that really brings the flavor out! Thanks for a nice muffin recipe to add to my collection.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: beatrice
To get more orange taste I added a few drops of orange extract and it was absolutly delicious
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: BETHLAURIE
Either I did something wrong or the other reviews were written by the cook's relatives! First of all I found it very tedious to grate all that chocolate. The muffins turned out flat, greasy, & the texture was kind of mealy. I used butter instead of margarine and fresh squeezed orange juice because I thought it would have more orange flavor, but it didn't. Don't know what went wrong, but considering the work involved in making them, I wouldn't bother to make them again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: RED IN HMB
This was a big let down. Did not care for them at all. Not enough orange flavor and not at all what you thought they were going to taste like. Yuck.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Pam Ziegler Lutz
These are delicious, light, and airy. I used miniature chocolate chips, but otherwise followed the recipe. YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Mieander
Nice orange flavor, we will be making these frequently. We just put in half a bag of dark chocolate chips instead.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Roberta
Excellent tasting but dry and dense. Take out of oven sooner and use honey in recipe instead of sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes