My Reviews (131)

One Step Chocolate Cake

This is one of the easiest chocolate cakes ever to make. Just mix all the ingredients in a mixer bowl and bake! Minimal cleanup.
Reviews (131)


03 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: JudyBancks
I have been baking cakes for over 60 years, and this is without doubt the easiest and best chocolate cake I have ever made..dense, moist and lasts wel l(if husband and grandkids let it!) The only revision I made was to increase the cocoa to 1 cup for a slightly denser chocolate taste.
 
17 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: ksteggs
I first made this for my daughters 5th birthday... we have since made it for a number of friends children's birthdays and we have used it to make character shaped cakes... very easy, moist and versatile cake ever... :D :D
 
18 Nov 2014
Reviewed by: jacintabourke17
Delicious! very easy to make. Nice and moist. I agree with Judy, extra coca works well! :-)
 
29 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: NC baking girl
Note: if your deciding between this recipe and one bowl chocolate cake III, they are exactly the same. I gave it 4 stars because I wasn't very impressed when I made it, but as someone else mentioned it is better the next day and best on the 3rd day. Day 3 it is 5 stars for sure. Great cake to make ahead of time for parties when you have lots of other stuff to make, since it is best on it's 3rd day. Thanks for this great recipe. Also, just to warn you, it looks ready before the boiling water and you therefore might forget it, just a note to keep in mind.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: SERENISM
This is actually Hershey's "Perfectly Chocolate" chocolate cake and I only realized it after making it the second time using this recipe. I think the trick to the cake is watching your oven temperature and checking on the cake regularly. The first time my cake came out dry but the second time round, I lowered the temperature and kept checking every 15 mins or so. It turned out chocolatey and moist. Somehow I feel it wouldn't be so chocolatey if I hadn't included a bag of chocolate chips along with more coco powder and a frosting. Still a good recipe and keeper! Made it for a camp and it was gone in seconds! PS: I would highly recommand lining your tin with baking paper cause the cake tends to stick.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: BUTTERCUPRX
Good basic chocolate cake mix. I followed the mix directions exactly, but I made cupcakes instead. 24 cupcakes took 16 minutes at 350 in my oven (which tends to cook a little slow). I ran out of cupcake liners, so some of them baked directly in the pan with cooking spray. I had no problems whatsoever with sticking to the pan. I did not think that they looked done, but the toothpick was clean so I took them out anyway, and they are perfect. This is not extremely chocolate-y or rich, so you will have to make some additions to get that. BUT it IS a good basic chocolate cake mix--fairly light texture, medium moisture level. And yes, it is the recipe right off the Hershey cocoa box.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: naples34102
Reliable deep, dark chocolate cake. Moist and dense - but to my liking almost too dense. Unlike some other chocolate cake recipes, this is not temperamental, so you can bake this cake confidently and expect it will turn out well, which is always a plus. I did bake it in the two layers and frosted it with the vanilla version of "Vanilla-Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting," also from this site.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: LTLWNG
This is a fantastic cake. I found it, too, on the back of the Hershey's cocoa box, but (this is cool) if you 1/2 the recipe, use buttermilk instead of milk, put it in a 8x8 or larger corningware dish that's been sprayed with non-stick spray and microwave it uncovered for 6 minutes on high or until it loses its shine on top and then cool it in the freezer (if you have room) and you can have a really good chocolate cake (moistest I've ever had) in less than 30 minutes (if you cool it in the freezer). Excellent with just about any icing and very good plain, too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 May 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I used buttermilk instead of regular milk and melted butter in place of the vegetable oil. Other than that, I followed the recipe exact. I used a large 9x13 pan and when I checked my cake at exactly a half hour baking time, it was jiggly in the middle. SO, I turned the cake (which friends told me to do in a gas oven so it cooks evenly, covered the top with foil so it would not burn and set the timer for another 30 minutes. It was perfectly done in an hour, awesomely moist and killer looking. I plan on frosting it with my own Chocolate Buttermilk Icing. GREAT Sunday cake to make with the kids as a special treat nevermind it uses basic pantry items and was simple to follow, which I appreciated. Smells AH-MAZING while baking. The kids were dancing around singing about the wonders of chocolate cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: noelle122
i forgot the boiling water!!!!! after putting the batter into the oven i realized i left out the boiling water!!! shocker though...it was really delicious even without but a bit dry. i won't hold that against this recipe though. the water probably would have made it moister.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes